Cry Baby


aec.atl552518.2 8/14/15 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.atl552518.2


    Cry Baby Atlantic
    1. Cry Baby Atlantic
    2. Cry Baby (Aus)

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Building upon the conceptual ideas of her 2014 EP, Dollhouse, Melanie Martinez's 2015 full-length debut, Cry Baby, finds her taking the innocent imagery of youth and family ("Carousel," "Training Wheels," "Milk and Cookies") and subverting them into angular R&B and electro-infused anthems of familial strife, abuse, and romance gone wrong. An arty, self-assured singer with a style that falls somewhere between Beyoncé and Björk, Martinez first came to the public's attention singing Britney Spears' "Toxic" as a contestant on the third season of NBC's The Voice. Perhaps not surprisingly, then, her songs also fit nicely next to the work of contemporaries like Lorde and Lana Del Rey. As with Dollhouse, aiding Martinez on Cry Baby are a handful of hip-hop and pop-steeped producers including Kinetics & One Love (B.o.B, Pitbull, Neon Hitch), SmarterChild (Krewella, Usher, Tori Kelly), and Frequency (Eminem, Royce da 5'9", Slaughterhouse). Featured on Cry Baby are the singles "Sippy Cup," "Soap," and "Pity Party." ~ Matt Collar

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Cry Baby
  2. 2. Dollhouse
  3. 3. Sippy Cup
  4. 4. Carousel
  5. 5. Alphabet Boy
  6. 6. Soap
  7. 7. Training Wheels
  8. 8. Pity Party
  9. 9. Tag, You're It
  10. 10. Milk and Cookies
  11. 11. Pacify Her
  12. 12. Mrs. Potato Head
  13. 13. Mad Hatter

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews