Navega (Ger)


aec.rcve710564.2 9/4/07 New
$10.49 $13.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rcve710564.2


    Navega (Ger) BMG / Sony BMG / Sony Music Distribution
    1. Navega (Ger) BMG / Sony BMG / Sony Music Distribution
    2. Navega Sony BMG / Sterns Arc Ltd. / Cooking Vinyl / Sterns Arc

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take 8 weeks or longer due to stock outages.


Review Text Cape Verdean singer Mayra Andrade has enjoyed a very healthy climb to stardom with this impressive debut. Certainly the last thing anyone thinks of when listening to her is a comparison with her countrywoman Césaria Évora. But Andrade hasn't rushed into the studio to record -- this album has had a six-year gestation. This is revealed right from the start, as the subtle "Dimokransa" shows the influence of Brazil in a transparently obvious but beautifully fashioned manner -- there's definite sophistication at work here. But that's not to say she ignores her roots -- far from it, as she proves with "Dispidia," "Nha Nobréza," and the title cut, with all derived airily from her native land. Even when she moves into French, as she does on "Comme S'il en Pleuvait," the rootedness of the music is apparent, and the connection with Brazil is perfectly natural. Andrade herself exudes a lovely, passionate warmth in her singing, and a very easy command that sidles rather than leaps out of the speakers. She has quality, and even more important, that elusive star quality. The next release will be major, no doubt about it. ~ Chris Nickson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Dimokransa [Lopsided Democracy] - 4:28
  2. 2. Lapidu Na Bo [Stuck On You] - 4:25
  3. 3. Mana - 5:37
  4. 4. Tunuka - 4:46
  5. 5. Comme S'il En Pleuvait [In Cascades] - 4:44
  6. 6. Nha Sibitchi [My Jet-Black Pearl] - 4:46
  7. 7. Lua [Moon] - 3:09
  8. 8. Navega [Upon the Waves] - 6:14
  9. 9. Poc Li Dente É Tcheu [the Little That We Have...] - 4:53
  10. 10. Dispidida [Song of Farewell] - 5:33
  11. 11. Nha Nobréza [the Flower of My Youth] - 4:52
  12. 12. Regasu [Maternal Breast] - 6:17

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews