Masterplan (Gate)



Product Promotions

20% off any 1 item
ID: aec.bbrh9.1


    Masterplan (Gate) Big Brother

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text For American audiences, the phenomenal worldwide success of Oasis was a little puzzling. That's because they only had part of the picture -- unless they were hardcore fans, they didn't hear nearly three albums of material released on B-sides and non-LP singles. Critics and fans alike claimed that the best of these B-sides were as strong as the best moments on the albums, and they were right. None of the albums had a song that rocked as hard as "Fade Away" (cleverly built on a stolen melody from Wham!'s "Freedom"), "Headshrinker," or "Acquiesce." There was nothing as charming as the lite psychedelic pastiche "Underneath the Sky" or the Bacharach tribute "Going Nowhere"; there was nothing as affecting as Noel Gallagher's acoustic plea "Talk Tonight" or the minor-key, McCartney-esque "Rockin' Chair," nothing as epic as "The Masterplan." Most bands wouldn't throw songs of this caliber away on B-sides, but Noel Gallagher followed the example of his heroes the Jam and the Smiths, who released singles where the B-sides rivaled the A-sides. This meant many American fans missed these songs, so to remedy this situation, Oasis released the B-sides compilation The Masterplan. Oasis unfortunately chose to opt for a single disc of highlights instead of a complete double-disc set, which means a wealth of great songs -- "Take Me Away," "Whatever," "D'Yer Wanna Be a Spaceman?," "Round Are Way," "It's Better People," "Step Out," a raging cover of "Cum on Feel the Noize" -- are missing. But The Masterplan winds up quite enjoyable anyway. Apart from the sludgy instrumental "The Swamp Song," there isn't a weak track here, and the brilliant moments are essential not only for Oasis fans, but any casual follower of Britpop or post-grunge rock & roll. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

Record: 1

  1. 1. Acquiesce
  2. 2. Underneath the Sky
  3. 3. Talk Tonight
  4. 4. Going Nowhere
  5. 5. Fade Away
  6. 6. Swamp Song
  7. 7. I Am the Walrus

Record: 2

  1. 8. Listen Up
  2. 9. Rockin' Chair
  3. 10. Half the World Away
  4. 11. (It's Good) to Be Free
  5. 12. Stay Young
  6. 13. Headshrinker
  7. 14. Masterplan

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products