Marvels Guardians Of The Galaxy: Cosmic Mix V1



Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.hwdd002290302.2


    Marvels Guardians Of The Galaxy: Cosmic Mix V1 Hollywood

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text This snapshot of favorites from intergalactic wiseacre/outlaw Star-Lord is a 12-song collection of classic rock (Dobie Gray's hit "Drift Away," a pair from the James Gang, Three Dog Night's classic "Joy to the World," and even more Joe Walsh on "Rocky Mountain Way"); some funky stuff (Peaches & Herb, Gloria Gaynor); and arena rock favorites (Thin Lizzy, Queen). Just like the blockbuster film's soundtrack -- Awesome Mix, Vol. 1, the only soundtrack in history to reach number one without a single new song -- the animated series' "cosmic" mix sticks to songs from the '70s, the hits that young Peter Quill would have heard before being abducted by the Ravagers. The only song to occupy a spot on both collections is Blue Swede's 1973 hit "Hooked on a Feeling," which returned to pop culture consciousness after being included in the 2014 hit movie (which was the third highest grossing of the year). Other inspired tunes bumping on the Milano include the unintentional predecessor to the Footloose theme, "Funk #49"; Cameo's appropriate sci-fi spaceship groover "Funk Funk"; and Jaimie Vernon's 2008 cover of the Hudson Brothers' 1974 hit "So You Are a Star," which could be Star-Lord's personal theme song. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Hooked on a Feeling - 3:53
  2. 2. Rocky Mountain Way - 5:16
  3. 3. Don't Stop Me Now - 4:30
  4. 4. Drift Away - 4:57
  5. 5. So You Are a Star - 4:48
  6. 6. Boys Are Back in Town - 4:28
  7. 7. Walk Away - 4:34
  8. 8. Funk No. 49 - 4:56
  9. 9. Shake Your Groove Thing - 6:33
  10. 10. I Will Survive - 8:01
  11. 11. Funk Funk - 5:47
  12. 12. Joy to the World - 4:39

Product Details

Release Date