Marshall Royal (Mod)



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.esmm4138667.2


    Marshall Royal (Mod) Essential Media

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Altoist Marshall Royal led relatively few sessions in his career, just three full albums of his own, with the second one not released until 1978. For this project from 1960, Royal, who was still with Count Basie's big band, is backed by a string section, an occasional choral group (which sometimes gets in the way), and a rhythm section (partly from Basie's orchestra) on arrangements by Gordon Jenkins. Jenkins was best known for his lush charts for commercial settings, and the music on this CD reissue is not that much of a stretch for him. He essentially frames Royal's alto as if it was a voice. Royal, who sounds a lot like Johnny Hodges, plays well on the concise performances although much of the time he sticks near the melody. There are a few medium-tempo numbers included but this is mostly a ballad set. The overall results are nice if not particularly challenging. ~ Scott Yanow

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Caravan - 2:15
  2. 2. Ain't Misbehavin' - 3:20
  3. 3. Birthof the Blues - 3:28
  4. 4. Take the 'A' Train - 5:54
  5. 5. When I Grow Too Old to Dream - 3:25
  6. 6. Intermezzo - 5:30
  7. 7. Blue Prelude - 3:26
  8. 8. Battle Royal - 3:45
  9. 9. Goodbye - 4:30
  10. 10. Pagan Love Song - 3:47
  11. 11. Black Coffee - 4:32
  12. 12. Blues for Beverly - 4:05

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products