Alienaided 1005


$0.84 $0.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, select tech items, and LEGO building kits)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400171113941


    Alienaided 1005 Majestic / Mri

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Alienaided is a collection of original trance tracks by San Francisco-based DJ and producer Mars, who has been an influential member of the West Coast dance music scene for close to 15 years. This album finds him working with figures even more venerable than himself, notably the Jungle Brothers (on "Ital Stew") and funk elder statesman George Clinton (on "It's the Truth," "Mars vs. Donald Glaude," and "It's All Trance"). Much of the music here will appeal primarily to those already converted to the trance gospel; to anyone other than a hardcore fan, tracks like "Haunted Hayes St." and "To Trust Is to Have Faith" will sound like little more than standard-issue, texturized four-on-the-floor house beats. But Mars does throw a changeup every now and again: "Ital Stew" is a wonderful slab of junglist hip-hop, and the Jungle Brothers' motor-mouthed nutritional propaganda ("It's not my fault you've got diarrhea, homey") is hilarious. "It's All Trance" incorporates a ska backbeat into the thudding trance mix, while "Ionizer" and "These Frequencies" even bring in a funky breakbeat. This is sure to be a hit with Mars' established fans, and may even win him a convert or two. ~ Rick Anderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. It's the Truth - 7:44
  2. 2. Haunted Hayes St. - 5:31
  3. 3. Ionizer - 5:51
  4. 4. Ital Step - 4:48
  5. 5. Mars vs. Donald Glaude - 3:02
  6. 6. Future Retro - 7:36
  7. 7. Mindbender - 5:49
  8. 8. My Distant Home - 4:15
  9. 9. To Trust Is to Have Faith - 5:12
  10. 10. Raverhammer - 6:38
  11. 11. Oldskool for Newskool - 6:14
  12. 12. Chrome Side of the Force - 4:04
  13. 13. Golden Gate Sunrise - 4:24
  14. 14. It's All Trance - 3:01
  15. 15. These Frequencies - 5:14

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews