This World & Body (Uk)


aec.imt5057946.2 9/23/16 New
$14.44 $16.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt5057946.2


    This World & Body (Uk) Edsel

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text After a string of slightly inconsistent singles, Marion pulled it all together for This World and Body, a fiery and thrilling blast of rock with some fine hints of delicacy cropping up throughout. The neo-Smiths comparison that the band won for itself -- and just as arguably created for itself -- makes a certain sense, mainly through the guitar work. Anthony Grantham and Phil Cunningham combine into a fine team, and if together it's not quite Johnny Marr reborn, the two balance full, blasting riffs, clipped rhythm sections, and abbreviated, crisp soloing, acoustic and electric guitars both regularly used. It's not so original that it's immediately recognizable, but it's really good, inspired playing from both track for track that draws on any number of styles to make a great end result. The rhythm section is agreeably frenetic as well, Murad Mousa's drumming a clear step above timekeeping thrash and bash. Jaime Harding is another matter -- while there's no doubting his sheer bravura and desire to throw himself into his singing, sometimes the effect is unpleasant. "Let's All Go Together," which should be a totally triumphant charge, is almost ruined by his extreme yelping of his lyrics in the verses, a clear case of loving his voice not too wisely but too well (the overwrought words don't help much). Other examples could be cited, but thankfully it's not endemic through This World and Body; often the band, helped by Al Clay's solid, lively production, and Harding combine just right. The re-recorded "Sleep" makes the best case for the album and band, the musicians bursting with energy right from the opening riff to the galloping conclusion, Harding riding the song with vim and controlled passion. Other definite highlights working seeking out include "Your Body Lies," which shows Harding can tone things down where appropriate, and the moody crawl into louder thrash of "All for Love." ~ Ned Raggett

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Fallen Through
  2. 2. Sleep
  3. 3. Let's All Go Together
  4. 4. Wait
  5. 5. Only Way
  6. 6. I Stopped Dancing
  7. 7. All for Love
  8. 8. Toys for Boys
  9. 9. Time
  10. 10. Vanessa
  11. 11. Your Body Lies
  12. 12. My Children

CD: 2

  1. 13. Collector
  2. 14. Waiting for No One
  3. 15. Moving Fast
  4. 16. Late Gate Show
  5. 17. Chance
  6. 18. Father's Day
  7. 19. Down the Middle With You
  8. 20. Changed for the Same
  9. 21. Violent Men
  10. 22. Sleep [Acoustic Version]
  11. 23. Wait [Acoustic Version]
  12. 24. Time [Acoustic Version]
  13. 25. Only Way [Live Version]
  14. 26. Late Gate Show [Live Version]

CD: 3

  1. 27. Collector [02/07/96]
  2. 28. Toys for Boys [25/01/95]
  3. 29. I Stopped Dancing [25/01/95]
  4. 30. Fallen Through [02/01/96]
  5. 31. Only Way [27/02/95]
  6. 32. Time [02/01/96]
  7. 33. All for Love [02/01/96]
  8. 34. Sparkle [02/01/96]
  9. 35. Vanessa [02/07/96]
  10. 36. My Children [27/02/95]
  11. 37. Wait [02/07/96]
  12. 38. Your Body Lies [02/07/96]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews