Sing Lustily & With Good Cheer


aec.sad383.2 4/20/94 New
$13.59 $15.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.sad383.2


    Sing Lustily & With Good Cheer Saydisc

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Maddy Prior's second recording with the Carnival Band (the first being A Tapestry of Carols) is a celebration of hymns by such figures as John Bunyan (1628-1688), Charles Wesley (1707-1788), et al., dating from the year 1700, when they were still not fully legitimate within either the Anglican or nonconformist churches in England. This isn't the wild and woolly sound of Steeleye Span, but something much more studied, coming out of a serious music tradition. Prior's solo singing, as on "As Pants the Hart," is as good as any on her Steeleye Span albums, but a lot more restrained and purposeful; some of the ensemble vocals, as on "O for a Thousand Tongues to Sing," are very pretty. Most of the material here is still sung today, although the instrumentation -- including lutes, mandolin, tabors, and 19th century bassoon -- has changed in use. "Lo He Comes With Clouds Descending" is one of the prettier pieces here, and a few, like "How Firm a Foundation," dating from the late 18th century, recall counterparts from the American religious experience. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Who would true valour see
  2. 2. Rejoice ye shining worlds
  3. 3. O Thou who camest from above
  4. 4. Lo! He Comes With Clouds Descending - 4:38
  5. 5. How Firm a Foundation - 3:58
  6. 6. O for a thousand tongues to sing - 4:48
  7. 7. As pants the hart - 2:26
  8. 8. God of Abraham Praise (a.k.a. "Leoni")
  9. 9. 29th of May (The jovial beggars)
  10. 10. Light of the world - 4:47
  11. 11. All hail the pow'r of Jesus' name - 4:03
  12. 12. Lord, in the morning - 3:45
  13. 13. Away with our sorrow and care
  14. 14. Christ the Lord is risen today (music from Lyra Davidica, ca. 1708 ) - 3:15
  15. 15. O Worship the King - 3:26
  16. 16. And can it be? (Sagina)

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews