Lyle Mays 0386


rovi.MR0001127683 Used
$16.99 $19.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001127683


    Lyle Mays 0386 Warner Bros.
    1. Lyle Mays 0386 Warner Bros.
    2. Sweet Dreams 0399 Warner Bros.

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Lyle Mays waited a long, long time before straying from the Pat Metheny Group to issue his first solo album, but when he did, the results were at once removed but not totally untethered to the Metheny sound and feeling. On his own, Mays' synthesizer solos and textures are close in sound to what he was doing in the Metheny group, but the turns of phrases in his acoustic piano solos reflect the heavy shadow of Keith Jarrett. "Highland Aire" naturally has a buoyant, wistful Scottish flavor; "Teiko" begins with a wash of synths and then offers a mechanical rhythm that is vaguely Asian in feeling; and "Slink" is the closest the album comes to the floating Metheny groove. Although the 14-minute "Alaskan Suite" forms the centerpiece of the LP's side two, the entire side could be considered a suite as a whole, with a ruminative piano solo "Mirror of the Heart" preceding "Alaskan Suite," and "Close to Home" reprising the twinkling, burbling shafts of synthesizer of "Alaskan Suite"'s opening. Bill Frisell gives Mays a different yet no less musical and enterprising guitar foil; drummer Alex Acuna and Metheny group percussionist Nana Vasconcelos are as flexible a team as Mays could want. Marc Johnson is on bass and Billy Drewes is on alto and soprano sax. A very pleasing, thoroughly musical solo debut. ~ Richard S. Ginell

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Highland Aire - 7:04
  2. 2. Teiko - 7:24
  3. 3. Slink - 8:18
  4. 4. Mirror of the Heart - 5:04
  5. 5. Alaskan Suite: Northern Lights - 3:17
  6. 6. Alaskan Suite: Invocation - 4:57
  7. 7. Alaskan Suite: Ascent - 7:58
  8. 8. Close to Home - 6:13

Customer Reviews