Tuckassee Take (Asia)


aec.imt946007.2 7/25/06 New
$22.09 $25.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt946007.2


    Tuckassee Take (Asia) MSI Music Distribution / EMI Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Lone Official come at you from gorgeously odd angles on Tuckassee Take. They have the same oddball imperfections as Pavement in their prime and the same ability to tether together all of the imperfections with pretty hooks and obtuse lyrics (though horse racing seems to be a prominent, if somewhat inscrutable theme here). The Nashville band, led by songwriter Matt Button, also displays some uncanny rhythmic sensibilities, such as the loose, jazzy chug of "Le Coq Sportif." On the other hand, "Sleepytime Down South" shows that the group has not only studied its Pavement (especially Wowee Zowee) but its Slint and Velvet Underground as well. Here, the group concocts a sort of lounge-cool indie rock out of chiming guitar figures, sound effects, a ponderous groove, and Button's hushed talk-singing. Tuckassee Take is an odd and pretty album, where every pitchy imperfection in guitar or vocal tone seems part of the master plan, and where onetime Lambchop drummer Ben Martin's rhythms carve out languid, jazzy spaces around all of the down-by-luck ruminations. ~ Erik Hage

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Pony Ride - 5:45
  2. 2. Fight Song - 5:35
  3. 3. Stall of the Stead - 4:52
  4. 4. Amelia Earhart - 3:06
  5. 5. Monarchos - 4:45
  6. 6. Bacon Creek - 3:38
  7. 7. Sleepy Time Down South - 2:43
  8. 8. Aught Years - 5:00
  9. 9. Coq Sportif - 4:49
  10. 10. Lost My Ass - 3:01
  11. 11. Country Strong - 3:57
  12. 12. Pretty Waters - 4:47
  13. 13. Dumb Waiter - 5:12
  14. 14. Coq Sportif

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews