Highlights From The Carnegie Hall Concerts


aec.limr55.2 7/17/12 New
$31.44 $36.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.limr55.2


    Highlights From The Carnegie Hall Concerts Lim
    1. Highlights From The Carnegie Hall Concerts Lim
    2. Liza Minnelli At Carnegie Hall Highlights Telarc Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Having set a record by selling out 11 concerts at Carnegie Hall in 1979, Liza Minnelli bettered her own mark when she spent three weeks at the prestigious venue in 1987. Though Minnelli was successful on Broadway and in the movies (and even recorded the occasional album), the core of her career was always her stage act, written for her by Fred Ebb and continually updated. By 1987, the 41-year-old singer had committed several versions of her one-woman show to record already, but this one turned out to be nearly definitive. Performing before a full orchestra, she mixed vintage standards with theater songs of her own era including, of course, the songwriting team that penned so many of her signature songs, John Kander and Ebb. And she even found places for such contemporary pop tunes as "I Can See Clearly Now" and "Somewhere out There." The best part of the show was the extended medley of Kander and Ebb songs that came at the end and ran nearly 29 minutes, including the Cabaret songs "Money, Money," "Mein Herr," "Maybe This Time," and the title song, and concluding inevitably with the theme from the film New York, New York. The result was a concert -- and a recording -- that summed up Minnelli's career brilliantly. Telarc's all-digital 83-minute recording of the complete show was planned more for the LP era than the emerging CD one, coming in at just over the maximum length of a single CD. So, the label also issued this single "highlights" disc that trimmed the show by 18 minutes, deleting nine songs in the process and re-sequencing the remaining ones. The result was a somewhat more cut-and-dried recording and one that was even more dominated by the Kander and Ebb medley, which now took up nearly half the running time. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Can See Clearly Now/I Can See It - 3:45
  2. 2. Here I'll Stay/Our Love Is Here to Stay - 6:54
  3. 3. Old Friends - 3:56
  4. 4. You Can Have Him/Time Heals Everything - 5:31
  5. 5. How Deep Is the Ocean - 3:36
  6. 6. Some People - 4:33
  7. 7. Ring Them Bells - 6:51
  8. 8. Alexander's Ragtime Band - 4:40
  9. 9. Somewhere Out There - 4:26
  10. 10. Ebb & Kander Medley I: Introduction/Liza with a Z/All I Need Is One Good Break/Sing Happy/A Quiet Thing - 5:13
  11. 11. Ebb & Kander Medley II: Liza with A Z/Mein Herr/Money, Money - 2:36
  12. 12. Maybe This Time - 3:59
  13. 13. Ebb & Kander Medley III: I'm One of the Smart Ones/Yes/City Lights/Liza with a Z/But, the World Goes 'Round - 8:04
  14. 14. Ebb & Kander Medley IV: Cabaret/Cabaret (Bows) - 5:37
  15. 15. New York, New York/New York, New York (Bows) - 6:08

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews