Today Is The Day 0909


fye.000000400283488371 9/23/08 Used

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400283488371


    Today Is The Day 0909 Columbia / Integrity / Sony Music Distribution / Integrity/Columbia
    1. Today Is The Day 0909 Columbia / Integrity / Sony Music Distribution / Integrity/Columbia
    2. Today Is The Day Integrity / Integrity/Columbia

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text After nearly a decade of making a name for himself singing other people's songs, virtuosic guitarist and worship leader Lincoln Brewster stepped out of his comfort zone with Today Is the Day, his fifth Integrity Music album. Brewster always knew how to write his own material, but somehow that output always took a backseat to his rollicking reading of praise standards, including high-energy takes on "Lord I Lift Your Name on High," "Shout to the Lord," and "Everlasting God." But Brewster is a glorified covers artist no more: Today Is the Day is his tour de force, his vindication after years of conforming to youth-worship stereotypes. Only one song attests to that past, a freewheeling rendition of Hillsong United's "Salvation Is Here." Everything else marks a fresh start for Brewster -- an opportunity to display the breadth of his instincts. Though unwaveringly worship-centric from start to finish, Brewster stretches beyond the confines of CCM-geared praise music into the realms of rock & roll ("Let Your Glory Shine"), blues ("Arms of My Savior"), gospel-rock ("Give Him Praise"), and even John Mayer-esque alternative pop ("This Love"). Some of the approaches are more populist, like the arena rock of "God You Reign" or the radio-readiness of the title track, but these centrist moves are meant to serve as pacesetters, bringing balance to a disc that, on the whole, reveals that praise & worship need not play it safe to remain worshipful. By drawing outside the lines while preserving the vertical spirit of worship, Brewster has proven with Today Is the Day that music that points heavenward can venture outside the church walls and still be respected for what it is: good music. ~ Andree Farias

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Today is the Day - 5:36
  2. 2. Everywhere I Go - 5:52
  3. 3. Give Him Praise - 5:55
  4. 4. God You Reign - 6:10
  5. 5. Arms of My Savior - 5:08
  6. 6. This Love - 4:27
  7. 7. Power of Your Name - 6:44
  8. 8. Love of God - 4:50
  9. 9. Salvation is Here - 5:51
  10. 10. Let Your Glory Shine - 5:53

CD: 2

  1. 11. Salvation is Here [Video]
  2. 12. Today is the Day [Video]
  3. 13. God You Reign [Song Story]
  4. 14. Salvation is Here [Song Story]
  5. 15. Everlasting God [Song Story]
  6. 16. God You Reign [Guitar Tutorial Video]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews