La Divine



Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.capb002637502.2


    La Divine Capitol / Virgin EMI

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Over the years, a growing sense of maturity emerged in Cold War Kids' music, with albums like Hold My Home proving that they're most successful when they're most straightforward. L.A. Divine builds on that album's solidly anthemic sound: "Love Is Mystical" and "Restless" are fine examples of the band at its stomping best. However, Cold War Kids also give L.A. Divine a little more pop sheen, and the combination of Nathan Willett's falsetto and the huge harmonies surrounding him is strangely reminiscent of Fun. on highlights like the power ballad "Part of the Night" and "No Reason to Run," a celebration of monogamy that sounds equally surprised and delighted. Indeed, much of L.A. Divine explores commitment, whether it's to a person or a city (as the title suggests, Cold War Kids' hometown was the album's muse). The band makes settling down -- but not settling -- sound less than boring on songs such as "So Tied Up," "Open Up the Heavens," and "Invincible," which tussle between vulnerability and bravado as they return to Cold War Kids' blazing rock. On the whole, L.A. Divine is a little less consistent than Hold My Home; the band's relentless intensity can get a bit exhausting, while the interludes sprinkled throughout the album feel more distracting than transporting. Nevertheless, L.A. Divine shows that Cold War Kids continue to expand their range -- and if they're becoming more accessible with each album, it's on their own terms. ~ Heather Phares

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Love Is Mystical - 4:34
  2. 2. Can We Hang On? - 4:43
  3. 3. So Tied Up - 3:09
  4. 4. Restless - 5:52
  5. 5. L.A. River - 1:07
  6. 6. No Reason to Run - 3:12
  7. 7. Open Up the Heavens - 4:38
  8. 8. Invincible - 5:30
  9. 9. Wilshire Protest - 1:22
  10. 10. Luck Down - 3:42
  11. 11. Ordinary Idols - 4:30
  12. 12. Cameras Always On - 1:35
  13. 13. Part of the Night - 4:00
  14. 14. Free to Breathe - 3:19

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews