My Kind Of Evil


aec.nrbl21.2 5/18/04 New

Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.nrbl21.2


    My Kind Of Evil NorthernBlues Music
    1. My Kind Of Evil NorthernBlues Music
    2. My Kind Of Evil (Uk) Crosscut Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text JW-Jones stretches out a bit on his third album, bringing a horn section into the mix to fill out the sound, and give it the feel of '50s-era R&B. But at the same time there's a slightly ragged feel to everything, and Jones' guitar playing, while bluesy, has as much rock about it as anything else -- it's easy to hear Eric Clapton in his solo on "Ain't Gonna Lie," for example, both in tone and style. He's very good on covers, such as "I Don't Know," but his own songs -- the vast majority of this disc -- have plenty of life. Producer Kim Wilson opts for a very full sound, bringing the guitar to the full front for solos. Jones himself is a slightly better than average singer -- but his vocalizing is eclipsed by his playing, and there are times when he might do better to emphasize his fretwork, which he does on the Stax-inflected "Nothing on Me." He works well with bluesman Colin James when the latter takes lead vocals, as on "You've Got Me," and Wilson gives some great harmonica on "Blue Monday." It's encouraging to hear Jones expanding his horizons, and he continues to grow as a player with this disc. ~ Chris Nickson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Shake That Mess - 4:55
  2. 2. What You Do to Me - 3:24
  3. 3. Ain't Gonna Lie - 3:28
  4. 4. I Don't Know - 5:01
  5. 5. Cheating Woman - 4:52
  6. 6. Nothing on Me - 4:08
  7. 7. You Can't Fool Me - 5:11
  8. 8. Slow Down - 6:30
  9. 9. Blue Monday - 3:50
  10. 10. My Kind of Evil - 3:09
  11. 11. You've Got Me (Where You Want Me) - 5:43
  12. 12. Code Blue - 5:51
  13. 13. Aching Pain - 5:44
  14. 14. Let's Have a Ball - 4:42

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews