Jools & Brian 1093


rovi.MR0000777233 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000777233


    Jools & Brian 1093 One Way Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The debut album from the formation of Julie Driscoll, Brian Auger & The Trinity, this record introduced to America a group that had been making some noise in England for some time already. The album is a bit fragmented, containing a few Julie Driscoll solo tracks, as well as some Auger/Trinity efforts without Driscoll. One of the most amazing moments opens the record: Driscoll's solo hit (in Europe), "I Know You Love Me Not." A swirling, churning string arrangement - not unlike a psychedelic Phil Spector - is the ground work for Driscoll's steely vocals. She come across as a combination of Dusty Springfield and Annie Lennox with a passionate performance. It's truly one of the great lost British records of the era, and alone is worth the price of the record. There is, though, a lot more. Some excellent moments for Auger, such as the swinging-jazz drenched. "Kiko" illustrate what incredible jazz chops they had. There is also an excellent cover of "Didn't Want To Have To Do It," which renders this John Sebastion classic is a new, soulful light. An inspiring, fresh debut, and swinging London at it's finest. ~ Matthew Greenwald

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Know You Love Me Not - 2:26
  2. 2. Kiko - 6:17
  3. 3. I Didn't Want to Have to Do It - 3:55
  4. 4. Fool Killer - 2:59
  5. 5. Don't Do It No More - 3:34
  6. 6. Let's Do It Tonight - 4:28
  7. 7. Green Onions '65 - 3:21
  8. 8. I Know You - 2:06
  9. 9. Tiger - 2:28
  10. 10. If You Should Ever Leave Me - 3:14
  11. 11. Oh, Baby Won't You Come Back Home to Croydon, Where Everbody Beedle An' - 2:19

Customer Reviews