Single Cuts


aec.soni7946132.2 8/30/11 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.soni7946132.2


    Single Cuts Columbia

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text There have indeed been countless Judas Priest compilations issued over the years. But if you're a Priest collector, then the 2011 release Single Cuts has to be one of the most intriguing archival releases the group has ever issued. That said, this observation only pertains to the pricier 52-song/20-disc (!) box set version, not the lighter-on-the-wallet single-disc version, which serves as another Priest "best-of." The former version is comprised of the group's complete U.K. CBS/Columbia singles (from 1977-1992), and each CD single is an exact replica -- cover and all -- of the original vinyl single. And while there were plenty of throwaway B-sides (in other words, merely another studio track plucked from the single's respective album), there were also quite a few non-album/live versions of classics included as B-sides, which get their chance to shine once more. Tops of the list have to be "Starbreaker," "White Heat Red Hot," and "Beyond the Realms of Death," all of which were recorded in concert during the late '70s. Elsewhere, you'll also find great live readings of "Breaking the Law," "Freewheel Burning," and "You've Got Another Thing Comin'." And as far as the single-disc version of Single Cuts goes, it's certainly one of the more interesting Priest compilations from a track listing perspective, as such oft-overlooked tunes as "Before the Dawn," "Evening Star," "Don't Go," "(Take These) Chains," and "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll" are featured alongside the expected classics. Whether you're a longtime collector looking for a one-of-a-kind release, or a newcomer searching for a smartly assembled collection of Priest classics, both versions of Single Cuts are winners. ~ Greg Prato

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Diamonds and Rust
  2. 2. Better by You, Better than Me
  3. 3. Before the Dawn
  4. 4. Take On the World
  5. 5. Evening Star
  6. 6. Living After Midnight
  7. 7. Breaking the Law
  8. 8. United
  9. 9. Don't Go
  10. 10. Hot Rockin'
  11. 11. You've Got Another Thing Coming
  12. 12. (Take These) Chains
  13. 13. Freewheel Burning
  14. 14. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
  15. 15. Turbo Lover
  16. 16. Locked In
  17. 17. Painkiller
  18. 18. Touch of Evil
  19. 19. Night Crawler

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews