Singing Cowboy Rides 1192


rovi.MR0000779587 Used
$2.24 $2.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000779587


    Singing Cowboy Rides 1192 CMH Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text This 18-song collection, recorded in July of 1976, features Johnny Bond backed up by the Willis Brothers, doing a superb series of songs mostly associated with the singing cowboys of B-Westerns, although several have since become country & western hits in their own right, separate from the movies. Bond's singing and enunciating are a bit stiffer than Gene Autry's on songs like "Back in the Saddle Again" and "South of the Border," although he also has a bit more grit in his presentation -- the duet between Bond and the Willis Brothers on "Cool Water" makes for a compelling mix of voices. Their delightfully jaunty work on "One More Ride" and "Take Me Back to Tulsa" should also be heard, just for the sheer fun of their approach. The instrumentation is mostly guitars (acoustic, electric, dobro, and steel), with fiddle, accordion, piano, and some restrained brass on the numbers that call for it, such as the moody and atmospheric "Along the Navajo Trail." The attempt was to find a compromise between old and new electric sounds, and it mostly worked. Other songs include "Sky Ball Paint," "San Antonio Rose," "Streets of Laredo," "High Noon" (on the original recording, Bond played guitar behind Tex Ritter), and "Cimarron," the latter one of Bond's most beloved original songs, originally sung by the Jimmy Wakely Trio. Officially designated as the Red River Valley Boys, the group, in addition to Bond and Vic and Guy Willis, included Curtis Young on vocals, with Johnny Gimble and Pete Wade, among others, providing the instrumental support. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Riders in the Sky - 3:46
  2. 2. Back in the Saddle Again - 2:27
  3. 3. Cool Water - 2:20
  4. 4. Sky Ball Paint - 2:08
  5. 5. Along the Navajo Trail - 3:07
  6. 6. South of the Border - 3:48
  7. 7. San Antonio Rose - 2:21
  8. 8. Streets of Laredo - 3:46
  9. 9. High Noon - 3:58
  10. 10. Sioux City Sue - 2:17
  11. 11. Rollin' Plains - 3:33
  12. 12. Red River Valley - 4:33
  13. 13. Trail to Mexico - 3:52
  14. 14. One More Ride - 2:19
  15. 15. Take Me Back to Tulsa - 3:05
  16. 16. Empty Saddles - 3:33
  17. 17. Last Roundup - 2:29
  18. 18. Cimarron (Roll On) - 2:56

Customer Reviews