Long Road Home: Ult Fogerty Creedence Collection


aec.fan9689.2 11/1/05 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.fan9689.2


    Long Road Home: Ult Fogerty Creedence Collection Fantasy

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The Long Road Home: The Ultimate John Fogerty/Creedence Collection is the first compilation to feature both Fogerty's classic Creedence Clearwater Revival hits and his solo recordings of the '80s and '90s. This was released on the occasion of his return to Fantasy Records, the label where he began his career, in 2005. He may have started his recording career there, but he had a bitter falling out with the label's owner, Saul Zaentz, in the '70s, which lead to lawsuits -- most notably, Zaentz sued Fogerty for plagiarizing himself -- and a self-imposed embargo on Fogerty performing CCR material, since that music evoked too many bad memories. In 2005, Zaentz was no longer with Fantasy and the label courted Fogerty with an offer, which he eventually accepted, with The Long Road Home being the first release in the new contract. Weighing in at 25 songs, this has most, but not all, of the big CCR/Fogerty songs and most, but not all, are in their original studio hit versions. A handful of songs are presented in live versions -- "Almost Saturday Night" and "Rockin' All Over the World" from his 1975 solo debut, "Bootleg," "Hey Tonight," "Keep on Chooglin'," and "Fortunate Son" -- and some of these are quite good (particularly the recent 2005 recordings). Also, there are a couple of songs that are hard not to miss -- not album tracks like "It Came out of the Sky," but charting singles like "Commotion," "Long as I Can See the Light," and "Rock & Roll Girls." That said, all these complaints amount to nitpicking, since this does have the great majority of Fogerty's best and biggest songs, and the collection is enormously entertaining. It's not just a good summary and introduction, but it's proof positive that Fogerty is one of the greatest songwriters of the rock & roll era. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Born on the Bayou - 5:13
  2. 2. Bad Moon Rising - 2:20
  3. 3. Centerfield - 4:53
  4. 4. Who'll Stop the Rain - 2:27
  5. 5. Rambunctious Boy - 4:53
  6. 6. Fortunate Son - 2:19
  7. 7. Lookin' Out My Back Door - 3:32
  8. 8. Up Around the Bend - 3:40
  9. 9. Almost Saturday Night - 2:27
  10. 10. Down on the Corner - 3:45
  11. 11. Bootleg - 3:00
  12. 12. Have You Ever Seen the Rain? - 3:38
  13. 13. Sweet Hitch-Hiker - 3:56
  14. 14. Hey Tonight - 3:33
  15. 15. Old Man Down the Road - 4:33
  16. 16. Rockin' All Over the World - 3:58
  17. 17. Lodi - 3:09
  18. 18. Keep on Chooglin' - 4:02
  19. 19. Green River - 3:33
  20. 20. Déjà Vu (All Over Again) - 4:13
  21. 21. Run Through the Jungle - 3:05
  22. 22. Hot Rod Heart - 3:29
  23. 23. Travelin' Band - 2:08
  24. 24. Proud Mary - 3:05
  25. 25. Fortunate Son - 3:58

Product Details

Legendary Creedence Clearwater Revival frontman John Fogerty returns to the stage to keep the music alive in a 2005 solo concert captured live at the Wiltern Theater in Los Angeles and featuring 28 classic tunes. Songs featured in this performance include "Down on the Corner," "Travelin' Band," "Hot Rod Heart," "The Old Man Down the Road," "Have You Ever Seen the Rain?," "Fortunate Son," and 22 other hits from various points throughout his enduring and influential career. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi
Release Date

Customer Reviews