Wrapped In White 1196


fye.000000400067692772 Used
$6.79 $7.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400067692772


    Wrapped In White 1196 Hearts Of Space

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text John Doan's usual instrument is the unusual 20-string harp/guitar, a 19th century instrument popular in parlors in the U.S. and Europe. This Christmas album brings those "olden days" to life. Doan has assembled a number of exotic and antique Victorian instruments, including the harmonica, mandolin harp, piccolo trumpet, banjo, toy piano, autoharp, the Gem Roller Organ, violin, cello, viola, and even a carol taken directly from an old Edison home phonograph. Doan's arrangements of traditional carols offer delightful sparkling highs, oom-pah lows, and warm guitar mid-tones. Because of the primitive state of some of the instruments, the album has a homey sound, but it is only some instruments that have the rough edge. The phrasing, arrangements, and performance on instruments is perfect. "Jolly Old Saint Nicholas" is first played on toy piano, then Doan repeats the theme on the harp/guitar and morphs the tune into "King Wenceslas"; the result is "Jolly Old King Wenceslas." A unique arrangement is the way-down-South swing feeling plunked on the traditional spiritual "Go Tell It"; of course, the banjo stars on this track. Doan offers a unique grouping to the carols: Carols of Kings (i.e., "Three Kings"), Carols of Birth (i.e., "Away in a Manger"), Carols of Joy, O Carols (i.e., "O Christmas Tree"), Carols of Night (i.e., "Silent Night"), and Carols of Bells & Farewells (i.e., "Carol of the Bells"). This album will make a refreshing addition to your collection of Christmas music. Build a fire, warm up some hot cider, and inhale the essence of Christmas past. ~ Carol Wright

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Born Is Jesus the Infant King - 0:19
  2. 2. Infant King - 4:06
  3. 3. We Three Kings - 0:28
  4. 4. Three Kings - 4:37
  5. 5. Jolly Old Saint Nicholas - 0:25
  6. 6. Jolly Old King Wenceslas - 5:47
  7. 7. Away in a Manger - 1:31
  8. 8. In the Manger - 5:44
  9. 9. Angels We Have Heard on High/The First Noel - 1:43
  10. 10. Angels First Noel - 3:20
  11. 11. Go Tell It - 3:51
  12. 12. Joy to the World - 1:39
  13. 13. Joy to the World - 2:36
  14. 14. Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring - 3:52
  15. 15. O Christmas Tree - 1:28
  16. 16. O Come, O Come - 5:48
  17. 17. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear - 2:19
  18. 18. Silent Night - 0:29
  19. 19. Silent Night - 2:21
  20. 20. Carol of the Bells - 3:24
  21. 21. Old Long Since (Auld Lang Syne) - 3:35

Customer Reviews