Fragments Of A Rainy Season


aec.domi107.1 12/16/16 New
$25.48 $29.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)
ID: aec.domi107.1


    Fragments Of A Rainy Season Domino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text It's hard to imagine John Cale on MTV, but if he appeared on Unplugged, the result probably would sound like this. Alone, Cale accompanies himself on acoustic piano and guitar, playing a retrospective set of some of his best and most accessible music. The emphasis is on his more contemplative material, such as the early Paris 1919 album, his later Words for the Dying, which features the poetry of Dylan Thomas set to music, and other notable Cale ballads. He does throw in some rock & roll fervor and some of his noisy avant-garde effects on numbers like "Guts," but for the most part this is a John Cale who, while intense, is quiet and dignified. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

Record: 1

  1. 1. Wedding Anniversary [Live]
  2. 2. Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed [Live]
  3. 3. Do Not Go Gentle into That Good Night [Live]
  4. 4. Cordoba [Live]
  5. 5. Buffalo Ballet [Live]
  6. 6. Child's Christmas in Wales [Live]
  7. 7. Darling I Need You [Live]
  8. 8. Guts [Live]
  9. 9. Ship of Fools [Live]
  10. 10. Leaving It up to You [Live]

Record: 2

  1. 11. Ballad of Cable Hogue [Live]
  2. 12. Chinese Envoy [Live]
  3. 13. Dying on the Vine [Live]
  4. 14. Fear (Is a Man's Best Friend) [Live]
  5. 15. Heartbreak Hotel [Live]
  6. 16. Style It Takes [Live]
  7. 17. Paris 1919 [Live]
  8. 18. (I Keep A) Close Watch [Live]
  9. 19. Thoughtless Kind [Live]
  10. 20. Hallelujah [Live]

Record: 3

  1. 21. Fear (Is a Man's Best Friend) [Outtake]
  2. 22. Amsterdam [Outtake]
  3. 23. Broken Hearts [Outtake]
  4. 24. I'm Waiting for the Man [Outtake]
  5. 25. Heartbreak Hotel [Outtake Strings]
  6. 26. Fear (Is a Man's Best Friend) [Outtake Strings]
  7. 27. Paris 1919 [Outtake Strings]
  8. 28. Antarctica Starts Here [Outtake Strings]

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews