Jimmy's Back Pages...The


rovi.MR0000775843 Used
$5.09 $5.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000775843


    Jimmy's Back Pages...The Sony Music Distribution / CBS Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Before joining the Yardbirds, Jimmy Page was Britain's premier session guitarist, guesting on innumerable dates from the Who and the Kinks on down to total unknowns. This 22-track compilation includes some of his more notable uncredited solos, when Page was the man to give a song or a session an extra lift with his licks. As you might expect, the quality is variable, encompassing charming but wimpy Merseybeat, energetic but generic covers of '50s rock classics, and sub-Stones R&B. There are some great moments here, though. The Primitives' sides are respectable raw British R&B, and Les Fleur de Lys are like a poppier Who. Page really lets rip on his solo for the First Gear's "Leave My Kitten Alone"; it's probably the best one he recorded prior to joining the Yardbirds. This also includes the rare single cut by Nico in Britain in 1965 before joining the Velvet Underground, which has a folkish sound in the vein of Marianne Faithfull; the A-side is a cover of Gordon Lightfoot's "I'm Not Saying," of all things, and the B-side is a somber acoustic ballad co-written by Page himself. The set ends with its one smash hit, Donovan's "Sunshine Superman." ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Circles
  2. 2. So Come On
  3. 3. Moondreams
  4. 4. Baby I Go For You
  5. 5. Little Baby
  6. 6. Gotta Make Their Future Bright-the First Gear
  7. 7. in Crowd
  8. 8. Certain Girl
  9. 9. Leave My Kitten Alone
  10. 10. Please Believe Me
  11. 11. Angie
  12. 12. How Do You Feel
  13. 13. You Said
  14. 14. She Was Tall
  15. 15. We'll Sing in the Sunshine
  16. 16. See You Later Alligator
  17. 17. Kelly
  18. 18. Without You
  19. 19. Climbing Through
  20. 20. I'm Not Sayin'
  21. 21. Last Mile
  22. 22. Sunshine Superman

Customer Reviews