Cobb's Grove 0903


rovi.MR0000839457 9/9/03 Used
$6.39 $7.99

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000839457


    Cobb's Grove 0903 Milestone / Universal

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The nucleus of Cobb's Mob formed while veteran drummer Jimmy Cobb was teaching at the New School. This 2003 studio session features two charter members, guitarist Peter Bernstein and the leader, along with seasoned pianist Richard Wyands, bassist John Webber, and special guest Eric Alexander on tenor sax. Five of the nine tracks are originals contributed by members of the band, starting with "Cobb's Groove," a bluesy hard bop masterpiece by the drummer that stimulates a number of great solos. Wyands' lush ballad "Willow Tree" showcases Alexander's warm tenor. Bernstein wrote three songs, including the turbulent "Jet Stream," the sauntering "Minor Changes," and the funky strut "Bobblehead." Webber's booming bass introduces a delicious take of the standard "Sweet and Lovely," while the subtle treatment of Henry Mancini's lovely ballad "Moment to Moment" adds a slight Latin flavor. Throughout the date the musicians interact rather than just react, with Cobb's just-right percussion holding it all together perfectly. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Cobb's Groove [Instrumental] - 7:02
  2. 2. I Miss You, My Love [Instrumental] - 5:27
  3. 3. Willow Tree [Instrumental] - 5:25
  4. 4. Sweet and Lovely [Instrumental] - 6:26
  5. 5. Jet Stream [Instrumental] - 6:53
  6. 6. Moment to Moment [Instrumental] - 6:53
  7. 7. Minor Changes [Instrumental] - 8:03
  8. 8. Bobblehead [Instrumental] - 7:48
  9. 9. Simone [Instrumental] - 6:20

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews