Chasin The Blues


aec.rvw9.2 2/28/06 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rvw9.2


    Chasin The Blues River Walk

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The Jim Cullum Jazz Band gained widespread appeal with its syndicated public radio series Riverwalk, Live from the Landing beginning in the late '80s. This compilation of live performances from the show (no recording dates are given) features some of the highlights. Cullum, an expressive cornetist, is accompanied by either John Sheridan (who has left to pursue a solo career) or Jim Turner on piano, clarinetist Ron Hockett, trombonist Kenny Rupp, bassist Don Mopsick, and either Kevin Dorn or Michael Waskiewicz on drums. The program is a mix of New Orleans jazz, classic jazz, and blues, with no one bandmember dominating the solo spotlight and a lot of emphasis on ensembles. Trumpeters Duke Heitger and Clint Baker join the fun for "Slow and Easy" and a rousing "Bugle Call Rag" (long a jazz vehicle before it became a bluegrass favorite). Though he is only on "Apex Blues" clarinetist Evan Christopher steals the show with his Sidney Bechet-influenced solo, though another guest clarinetist, Kenny Davern, appears on a hot take of "Diga Diga Do" (while Hockett evidently switches to tenor sax). "Trouble in Mind," which features Topsy Chapman's bluesy vocal, is another highlight of this collection. ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Tight Like This - 6:13
  2. 2. Cakewalkin' Babies from Home - 4:36
  3. 3. My Old Kentucky Home, Good Night - 5:40
  4. 4. I've Got the Blues for Home Sweet Home - 4:07
  5. 5. Lonesome Road - 5:34
  6. 6. Slow and Easy - 4:03
  7. 7. Bugle Call Rag - 4:50
  8. 8. Shake That Thing - 4:34
  9. 9. Aunt Hagar's Blues - 5:19
  10. 10. Trouble in Mind - 5:23
  11. 11. Sobbin' Blues - 6:28
  12. 12. Burnin' the Iceberg - 5:19
  13. 13. Apex Blues - 4:22
  14. 14. Diga Diga Doo - 4:55

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews