Songs From The Wood (Rmst)


aec.prl815709.2 5/20/03 New

Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.prl815709.2


    Songs From The Wood (Rmst) Chrysalis Records / Chrysalis/Capitol
    1. Songs From The Wood (Rmst) Chrysalis Records / Chrysalis/Capitol
    2. Songs From The Wood (W/Dvd) (Box) Rhino
    3. Songs From The Wood Rhino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text Far and away the prettiest record Jethro Tull released at least since Thick as a Brick and a special treat for anyone with a fondness for the group's more folk-oriented material. Ian Anderson had moved to the countryside sometime earlier, and it showed in his choice of source material. The band's aggressive rock interplay and Anderson's fascination with early British folk melodies produce a particularly appealing collection of songs -- the seriousness with which the group took this effort can be discerned by the album's unofficial "full" title on the original LP: "Jethro Tull With Kitchen Prose, Gutter Rhymes, and Divers Songs from the Wood." The group's sound was never more carefully balanced between acoustic folk and hard rock -- the result is an album that sounds a great deal like the work of Tull's Chrysalis Records labelmates Steeleye Span (though Nigel Pegrum never attacked his cymbals -- or his entire drum kit -- with Barriemore Barlow's ferocity). The harmonizing on "Songs From the Wood" fulfills the promise shown in some of the singing on Thick as a Brick, and the delicacy of much of the rest, including "Ring Out, Solstice Bells" (where the group plays full out, but with wonderful elegance), "Hunting Girl," and "Velvet Green," set a new standard for the group's sound. "Pibroch (Cap in Hand)," which is dominated by Martin Barre's electric guitar -- in a stunning array of overlapping flourishes at full volume -- is the only concession to the group's usual hard rock rave-ups, and even it has some lovely singing to counterbalance the bulk of the song. ~ Bruce Eder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Songs from the Wood - 5:55
  2. 2. Jack-In-The-Green - 3:31
  3. 3. Cup of Wonder - 5:33
  4. 4. Hunting Girl - 5:12
  5. 5. Ring Out Solstice Bells - 4:47
  6. 6. Velvet Green - 6:04
  7. 7. Whistler - 4:31
  8. 8. Pibroch (Cap in Hand) - 9:35
  9. 9. Fire at Midnight - 3:33
  10. 10. Beltane - 5:19
  11. 11. Velvet Green - 6:56

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews