Vj & Mercury Years


aec.tliv30635250.2 8/13/13 New
$13.59 $15.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.tliv30635250.2


    Vj & Mercury Years Charly Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text This excellent Charly disc offers up 22 sides from Jerry Butler's time at the Vee-Jay label during 1960-1967. Butler would go on to score more smashes on Mercury during the late '60s and early '70s, but his prime material may well be found here with cuts like "He Will Break Your Heart," "Find Another Girl," and "I Stand Accused." Less soul-symphonic than his Philly/Mercury work for Gamble & Huff, Butler's Vee-Jay tracks feature more of the romantic, late-'50s sound of his early Impressions sides (Butler's big hit with the Impressions, "For Your Precious Love," is included here). The MOR sophistication is particularly well essayed on his amazing versions of Bacharach's "Make It Easy on Yourself" and "Message to Martha." None of his fine duets with Betty Everett are to be found, but this is a small complaint considering the wealth contained herein. ~ Stephen Cook

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. For Your Precious Love
  2. 2. Sweet Was the Wine
  3. 3. He Will Break Your Heart
  4. 4. Find Another Girl
  5. 5. I'm a Telling You
  6. 6. Aware of Love
  7. 7. Moon River
  8. 8. Make It Easy on Yourself
  9. 9. I'm the One Who Loves You
  10. 10. You Can Run (But You Can't Hide)
  11. 11. Whatever You Want
  12. 12. Message to Martha
  13. 13. Where's the Girl
  14. 14. Need to Belong
  15. 15. Giving up on Love
  16. 16. I've Been Trying
  17. 17. I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore
  18. 18. I Stand Accused
  19. 19. I Can't Stand to See You Cry
  20. 20. Nobody Needs Your Love
  21. 21. Just for You
  22. 22. For Your Precious Love

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews