I Need You


aec.yep2016.2 2/11/00 New
$10.18 $11.98

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.yep2016.2


    I Need You Yep Roc

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Jennyanykind's sixth album is Dylanesque folk-rock that's more eclectic than most music of its ilk. The adjective "Dylanesque" is an overused cliché for describing such bands, perhaps, but it's really unavoidable here. That's both because of the timbre and delivery of the vocals (by Michael Holland and Mark Holland) -- though these might fall close to Roger McGuinn as well -- and the arrangements, which have their share of slow, ethereal organ parts, as well as a wheezy harmonica (on "Young Boy Blues"). There's a world-weary, fatalistic air to much of the proceedings, sometimes blatantly so: On "Up Early in the Morning," the band sound like they'd just as soon fall back into bed. Even when the message is ostensibly happy ("We Can Be Happy"), it's delivered in a reserved, uncertain tone. The album also has a loose, slightly lazy Americana feel that's anything but slick (not surprising, given that it was recorded in their home studio). As for its eclecticism, there's a guitar-organ instrumental, another instrumental decorated by phasing effects ("Up Early Reprise"), and a number that bears the definite influence of 1970s-style Jamaican reggae production in its jerky tempo and swirling organ ("In a Village Square"). Mostly, though, this is music for the No Depression crowd, with more sonic variety than is usually found in that genre. Probably the most memorable tune -- and certainly one of the most Dylanish and fatalistic -- is the seven-minute "It's a Wicked World," with its surly slide guitar, organ, and son-of-"Ballad of a Thin Man" vocal and arrangement. ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Up Early in the Morning - 5:06
  2. 2. We Can Be Happy - 3:32
  3. 3. Young Boy Blues - 4:38
  4. 4. It's a Wicked World - 7:23
  5. 5. Why You Wanna Treat Me Like That? - 5:35
  6. 6. Ghostly White - 5:08
  7. 7. Acoustic...Ambient - 5:36
  8. 8. You Are What You Are - 4:34
  9. 9. Price of Love - 5:04
  10. 10. Up Early Reprise - 2:25
  11. 11. In a Village Square - 4:44
  12. 12. I Need You - 5:56

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews