Funk Odyssey (Asia)


aec.imt851692.2 1/1/03 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt851692.2


    Funk Odyssey (Asia) Sony Music Distribution

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text After the jarring reception of 1999's Synkronized, Jamiroquai constructed A Funk Odyssey, something more polished and slick inside the band's own brand of funky disco-rock. Jason Kay and keyboardist/songwriter Toby Smith perfected a maturation that was left keyed in Travelling Without Moving but left open-ended on Synkronized for a wide scope of musical delight. A Funk Odyssey taps into various illustrious grooves of the Latin world, classic rock, and mainstream club culture, and Jamiroquai is tight and eager to make everyone shake their groove thing in their own light. The first single, "Little L," beams with Kajagoogoo-like synths while warping into a funk-driven hue of orchestral whirlpools, but Jamiroquai allows the band's extroverted and unattached personality to shine on the worldbeat-tinged "Corner of the Earth." Kay strips aside all disco humor and grandeur for something personally inviting, something that's heartfelt, too. A Funk Odyssey sparks classic enthusiasm, and it feels good. Dance music is not just a design, it's something far more tangible, and Jamiroquai surely captures a fierce desire to make it more emotional on the band's own level. ~ MacKenzie Wilson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Feel So Good
  2. 2. Little L
  3. 3. You Give Me Something
  4. 4. Corner of the Earth
  5. 5. Love Foolosophy
  6. 6. Stop Don't Panic
  7. 7. Black Crow
  8. 8. Main Vein
  9. 9. Twenty Zero One
  10. 10. Picture of My Life
  11. 11. Everybody's Going to the Moon
  12. 12. Do It Like We Used to Do
  13. 13. Deeper Underground
  14. 14. Little L
  15. 15. You Give Me Something
  16. 16. Main Vein

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews