I Am A Singer 1191


rovi.MR0001905165 Used

Product Promotions

30% off used CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 3 or more (excludes exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001905165


    I Am A Singer 1191 USA Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text At 49, Jack Jones continued to try to make records that balanced the classic pop he had begun singing in the early 1960s with the contemporary pop/rock that had swamped him soon thereafter. This independent-label release managed a good mix of standards like "You've Changed" and "Here's That Rainy Day," and recent, complementary material such as Steve Perry's "Foolish Heart" and Billy Joel's "Leave a Tender Moment Alone." Most promisingly, Jones had a clutch of custom-written songs, including the title track and two others co-composed by Gerard Kenny (best known for Barry Manilow's hit "I Made It Through the Rain"). "I Am a Singer" worked as a straightforward self-description and gave the album something of a theme, followed up on "Wind Beneath My Wings." That song, previously a country and R&B hit, was given a tempered treatment by Jones that softened the self-serving, disingenuous sentiment of its lyrics. (Two years later, Bette Midler topped the pop charts with a far less restrained version.) Kenny's "All Because of Love" was a dramatic ballad that could have had a chance on adult contemporary radio if it had been released by a major label with some promotional muscle. And Jones even contributed to his own cause, co-writing the Brazilian-flavored "Another Rio." He may have continued to be a man out of time in pop music terms -- too young for the Frank Sinatra-led classic-pop era of the '50s, too old for the Barry Manilow-led power ballad era of the '70s -- but I Am a Singer was a reasonable effort by a still-viable singer trying to bridge a musical gap. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. I Am a Singer - 3:04
  2. 2. Love Dance - 7:33
  3. 3. Foolish Heart - 3:07
  4. 4. You've Changed/Round Midnight - 5:16
  5. 5. Leave a Tender Moment Alone - 4:54
  6. 6. Wind Beneath My Wings - 4:41
  7. 7. Another Rio - 3:45
  8. 8. Other Woman, The Other Man - 4:47
  9. 9. All Because of Love - 4:46
  10. 10. Lovesick - 4:18
  11. 11. You Are the Love of My Life - 3:32
  12. 12. Here's That Rainy Day - 8:39

Customer Reviews