J.D. Crowe & The New South


aec.roup610044.2 2/14/92 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.roup610044.2


    J.D. Crowe & The New South Rounder

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text J.D. Crowe & the New South's eponymous debut album is one of the most influential and pioneering records in the history of bluegrass. For the first edition of the New South, Crowe assembled a stellar group of musicians -- including Ricky Skaggs (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Tony Rice (lead vocals, guitar), and Jerry Douglas (dobro) -- and gave them each equal weight. Consequently, this is vibrant collaborative music, not just a leader with some faceless studio hacks. Furthermore, Crowe pushed the music in new direction with his section of material, taking songs from contemporary singer/songwriters like Gordon Lightfoot, adding a couple of originals, as well as standards. With such an eclectic selection of songs, plus the band's trailblazing instrumental style, The New South did indeed offer a new kind of bluegrass and its impact could still be felt years after its release. ~ Thom Owens

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Old Home Place - 3:48
  2. 2. Some Old Day - 3:31
  3. 3. Rock, Salt and Nails - 3:05
  4. 4. Sally Goodin' - 3:19
  5. 5. Ten Degrees (Getting Colder) - 2:20
  6. 6. Nashville Blues - 4:30
  7. 7. You Are What I Am - 2:24
  8. 8. Summer Wages - 4:29
  9. 9. I'm Walkin' - 2:12
  10. 10. Home Sweet Home (Revisited) - 3:24
  11. 11. Cryin' Holy - 2:19

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews