Live Back To Earth 0388


rovi.MR0001159755 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0001159755


    Live Back To Earth 0388 RCA

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text Isao Tomita is, first and foremost, a master showman. Back to the Earth is credited to Isao Tomita and the Plasma Symphony, but it is Tomita's show. He staged a concert in Battery Park, on the Hudson River, to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Statue of Liberty. It was more of an event than a concert. With Battery Park surrounded by musicians, synths, computers, and choirs, Tomita conducted the affair from a control room suspended in mid-air by a crane. Three huge speakers, two in barges on the river and one hanging from a helicopter, provided the sound. That is all very cool and important information, but it is all for naught if the music sucks. Fortunately, this is a dynamic and diverse performance worthy of all the hoopla and expense. Tomita's use of samples and his transcriptions are right on the mark. He employed musicians to perform on acoustic and ethnic instruments. He further supplemented his synths with choirs and chorale performances. This is a fairly unique CD with no logical comparisons. While it is not essential, it is excellent. ~ Jim Brenholts

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Peri: Fanfare - 2:26
  2. 2. Three-Part Invention No. 2 in C Minor - 4:12
  3. 3. Symphony No. 3 in D Minor: Fifth Movement - 4:10
  4. 4. Also Sprach Zarathustra: Fanfare - 1:27
  5. 5. Planets: Mars, the Bringer of War - 5:35
  6. 6. Engulfed Cathedral - 6:53
  7. 7. Chinese War Lord Going Home - 4:21
  8. 8. Tristan and Isolde: Liebestod - 8:45
  9. 9. Planets: Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity - 2:10
  10. 10. Rhapsody in Blue - 12:18
  11. 11. Goin' Home - 6:31
  12. 12. Firebird Suite: Finale - 3:36

Customer Reviews