Crossover Ministry (Dig)


aec.rpe7673572.2 2/3/17 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rpe7673572.2


    Crossover Ministry (Dig) Relapse Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text If you're going to parody something effectively, you have to have some love for it in your heart, and one thing that's unmistakable is that Iron Reagan love vintage thrash. These guys dig the punk/metal crossover the way Slayer love Satan (or used to love Satan). From the name on down, it's clear they know the sound and the original era forward and backwards. And if they deliver their lyrics with tongue in cheek, they tear into the music with a precision and fury that inspire both joy and admiration in those who still get their kicks cranking D.R.I. or S.O.D. 2017's Crossover Ministry is Iron Reagan's third full-length, and if they're not reinventing the wheel here, think of this album like a 1969 Chevrolet Camaro Z/28 -- they made thousands of them back in the day, but you don't see them so often lately, and once you get behind the wheel and open it up, you're going to have a blast. With tunes like "Parents of Tomorrow" ("Mom's on the internet!"), "Fuck the Neighbors" ("The more you complain/ The more we'll go hard!"), and "Dead with My Friends," it's obvious that this band approaches thrash with a bit of a wink and a nudge. But they celebrate the traditional themes of the genre, and can write effective, straightforward songs as well as goofy stuff. And Iron Reagan sound tight as a fist and as brutal as a chainsaw on Crossover Ministry; Phil Hall and Mark Bronzino are a superb guitar team who can dish out a rhythmic crunch and acrobatic leads in grand style; bassist Robert Skotis and drummer Ryan Parrish are a rhythm section with plenty of brain and brawn, and vocalist Tony Foresta barks with ferocious authority, and helps this stuff make sense. Iron Reagan may be kidding some of the time, but when it comes to the music, they're not joking even a tiny bit, and Crossover Ministry will give your ears the swift kick they've been dreaming of. ~ Mark Deming

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Dying World - 2:24
  2. 2. You Never Learn - 1:43
  3. 3. Grim Business - 2:29
  4. 4. Dead with My Friends - 4:35
  5. 5. No Sell - 0:12
  6. 6. Condition Evolution - 2:56
  7. 7. Fuck the Neighbours - 2:50
  8. 8. Power of the Skull - 1:49
  9. 9. Crossover Ministry - 2:03
  10. 10. More War - 2:36
  11. 11. Blatant Violence - 1:23
  12. 12. Parents of Tomorrow - 0:05
  13. 13. Bleed the Fifth - 2:01
  14. 14. Megachurch - 2:36
  15. 15. Shame Spiral - 2:36
  16. 16. Dogsnotgods - 1:18
  17. 17. Eat or Be Eaten - 1:31
  18. 18. Twist Your Fate - 3:41

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews