Into The Great Wide Open


aec.mca10317.2 7/2/91 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.mca10317.2


    Into The Great Wide Open Gone Gator / MCA
    1. Into The Great Wide Open (Jmlp) (Jpn) (Pshm)
    2. Into The Great Wide Open Gone Gator / MCA

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Since Full Moon Fever was an unqualified commercial and critical success, perhaps it made sense that Tom Petty chose to follow its shiny formula when he reunited with the Heartbreakers for its follow-up, Into the Great Wide Open. Nevertheless, the familiarity of Into the Great Wide Open is something of a disappointment. The Heartbreakers' sound has remained similar throughout their career, but they had never quite repeated themselves until here. Technically, it isn't a repeat, since they weren't credited on Full Moon, but Wide Open sounds exactly like Full Moon, thanks to Jeff Lynne's overly stylized production. Again, it sounds like a cross between latter-day ELO and roots rock (much like the Traveling Wilburys, in that sense), but the production has become a touch too careful and precise, bordering on the sterile at times. And, unfortunately, the quality of the songwriting doesn't match Full Moon or Let Me Up (I've Had Enough). That's not to say that it rivals the uninspired Long After Dark, since Petty was a better craftsman in 1991 than he was in 1983. There are a number of minor gems -- "Learning to Fly," "Kings Highway," "Into the Great Wide Open" -- but there are no knockouts, either; it's like Full Moon Fever if there were only "Apartment Song"s and no "Free Fallin'"s. In other words, enough for a pleasant listen, but not enough to resonate like his best work. (And considering this, perhaps it wasn't surprising that Petty chose to change producers and styles on his next effort, the solo Wildflowers.) ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Learning to Fly - 4:02
  2. 2. Kings Highway - 3:07
  3. 3. Into the Great Wide Open - 4:43
  4. 4. Two Gunslingers - 3:09
  5. 5. Dark of the Sun - 3:23
  6. 6. All or Nothin' - 4:06
  7. 7. All the Wrong Reasons - 4:45
  8. 8. Too Good to Be True - 4:58
  9. 9. Out in the Cold - 4:41
  10. 10. You and I Will Meet Again - 4:41
  11. 11. Makin' Some Noise - 3:26
  12. 12. Built to Last - 4:58

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews