Dd Soul Trader 0106


fye.000000400172279271 7/29/03 Used
$0.74 $0.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400172279271


    Dd Soul Trader 0106 Myutopia
    1. Dd Soul Trader 0106 Myutopia
    2. Soul Trader 0803 Myutopia

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text From Myutopia, the label that welcomed Dave Tipper to the full-length realm, comes a record from another breaks veteran, Ilian Walker's Ils. Only technically his full-length debut -- a first album, Idiots Behind the Wheel, barely made it to the stores -- Soul Trader displays Ils' clear fluency with the album form. "6 Space (Next Level)" eases listeners in with several minutes of restrained yet impressive programming, showing off Walker's flat beats, dotted basslines, and refusal to construct a track -- as many breaks producers do -- with little more than a streamlined breakbeat and a crowd-raising vocal sample for six minutes. Surprisingly, Ils never really cuts loose with Soul Trader either. Each track is a closely wrought miniature of clever breaks and competing effects, but with no burners and few downbeat tracks, most of them occupy a samey middle ground. Nearly all of the tracks here are ripe for the mix-album picking, but taken as a whole, Soul Trader is less than the sum of its parts. ~ John Bush

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. 6 Space (Next Level)
  2. 2. Are You Ready?
  3. 3. Prohibition
  4. 4. Only Way to Survive
  5. 5. Find a Way
  6. 6. Western Way
  7. 7. No Soul
  8. 8. Feel Alright
  9. 9. Kashmir
  10. 10. Music
  11. 11. Jackpot
  12. 12. Trapped
  13. 13. No Soul
  14. 14. Music

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews