Product Promotions

20% off new CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.mryb001484702.2


    Icon Island / Mercury

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Someone has exercised editorial judgment in selecting the tracks for the Bachman-Turner Overdrive edition in Universal Music's series of discount-priced best-ofs called Icon. BTO placed 12 songs in the Billboard Hot 100, and there are 12 tracks on the disc, but only seven of them are the same ones. Of course, the band's biggest hits, "You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet" and "Takin' Care of Business" are here, bookending the album, and so are such other Top 40 hits as "Roll On Down the Highway" and "Let It Ride." But several down-chart singles are missing, along with one other Top 40 hit, "Hey You," which reached number 21. In place of the chart singles, someone has chosen five songs from BTO's commercial heyday, 1973-1976, when the group scored five consecutive gold albums in the U.S. -- "Welcome Home," "Flat Broke Love" (oddly enough, the B-side of the missing "Hey You"), "Stayed Awake All Night," "Four Wheel Drive," and "Thank You for the Feelin'." Bachman-Turner Overdrive fans may or may not agree with these inclusions, but they do provide a bit of diversity to what is otherwise just another hits package. ~ William Ruhlmann

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Takin' Care of Business - 5:52
  2. 2. Roll on Down the Highway - 4:57
  3. 3. Let It Ride - 4:24
  4. 4. Take It Like a Man - 4:42
  5. 5. Welcome Home - 6:30
  6. 6. Flat Broke Love - 4:57
  7. 7. Stayed Awake All Night - 4:06
  8. 8. Gimme Your Money Please - 5:42
  9. 9. Four Wheel Drive - 4:23
  10. 10. Lookin' Out for #1 - 5:21
  11. 11. Thank You for the Feelin' - 4:06
  12. 12. You Ain't Seen Nothing Yet - 4:53

Product Details

Release Date