I Am The Cosmos (Cvnl) (Dlcd)


ID: aec.omre101325.1


    I Am The Cosmos (Cvnl) (Dlcd) Omnivore

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Unreleased for over 15 years, I Am the Cosmos is nevertheless an enduring testament to the brilliance of Chris Bell; lyrically poignant and melodically stunning, this lone solo album is proof positive of his underappreciated pop mastery. While cuts like "Get Away," "I Got Kinda Lost," and "Fight at the Table" recall the glowing, energetic power pop of Bell's earlier work, the majority of the songs on I Am the Cosmos are more reflective and deeply personal; the title track is a harrowingly schizophrenic tale of romantic despair, while other cuts like the lurching "Better Save Yourself" and the lovely "Look Up" are infused with a spiritual power largely missing from his Big Star material. The album's highlight, "You and Your Sister" -- which features backing vocals from none other than Bell's Big Star mate Alex Chilton -- is simply one of the great unknown love songs in the pop canon, a luminous and fragile ballad almost otherworldly in its beauty. ~ Jason Ankeny

Track Listing

Record: 1

  1. 1. I Am the Cosmos
  2. 2. Better Save Yourself
  3. 3. Speed of Sound
  4. 4. Get Away
  5. 5. You and Your Sister
  6. 6. I Got Kinda Lost
  7. 7. Look Up
  8. 8. Make a Scene
  9. 9. There Was a Light
  10. 10. I Don't Know
  11. 11. Fight at the Table
  12. 12. Though I Know She Lies
  13. 13. I Am the Cosmos
  14. 14. You and Your Sister
  15. 15. Look Up
  16. 16. Untitled Acoustic Instrumental

Record: 2

  1. 17. I Am the Cosmos
  2. 18. Better Save Yourself
  3. 19. Speed of Sound
  4. 20. Get Away
  5. 21. You and Your Sister
  6. 22. Make a Scene
  7. 23. Fight at the Table
  8. 24. I Don't Know
  9. 25. Speed of Sound
  10. 26. Stay With Me
  11. 27. In My Darkest Hour
  12. 28. So Long Baby
  13. 29. Fight at the Table
  14. 30. Yo and Your Sister
  15. 31. Get Away
  16. 32. Better Save Yourself
  17. 33. I Am the Cosmos
  18. 34. Untitled Electric Instrumental
  19. 35. Though I Know She Lies

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products