Mozart's Money 296


fye.000000400030428681 Used
$0.84 $0.99

Product Promotions

15% off sitewide (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400030428681


    Mozart's Money 296 1-800-Prime

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Hugh Blumenfeld's third album is his strongest album so far. Titled Mozart's Money, this record is produced by David Seitz with a radio-ready sound that is never overbearing. For any who have heard Blumenfeld's two earlier albums and found them a little on the safe side, do take the time to check this record out. On this album he delivers his songs with a confident assurance of someone who knows he has made a quantum leap in his singing dynamics and the consistent focus of his songwriting. Hugh takes on a wide range of subjects beginning with a humorous musing where all the money Mozart's work earned has gone, since it certainly didn't go to the composer, and that artists of all levels still have to do their work for its own sake. There is a wonderful vocal support throughout from Lucy Kaplansky, Madwoman in the Attic and Judith Zweiman. The arrangements are distinctive and make no concessions for a folk audience although the singer/songwriter nature of the material will still probably still appeal to that audience. "Talking Island" sounds like he dropped in on the Turtle Island Quartet, "What Is You Do Nothing" sounds like Hugh is channeling Steve Goodman, while "Mr. Rain," an ode to Kurt Cobain, rocks out and hammers the hook into your head with a great guitar part and Hugh's strongest vocal yet. ~ Richard Meyer

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Mozart's Money - 3:15
  2. 2. Raphael - 4:48
  3. 3. Waiting for the Good Humour Man - 2:28
  4. 4. This Mountain - 4:44
  5. 5. Talking Island - 2:05
  6. 6. Mr. Rain - 3:22
  7. 7. Main Street Sky - 4:54
  8. 8. What If You Do Nothing/Winter Suite - 3:46
  9. 9. Sweet October - 1:18
  10. 10. Sparrowhawk - 4:11
  11. 11. Blizzard - 4:28
  12. 12. Friends of a Traveler - 4:20
  13. 13. Visit - 2:00
  14. 14. [Data Track] - 2:01
  15. 15. When Hiroshima Comes To Disneyland - 3:48

Customer Reviews