Heart On My Sleeve (Dlx)


$10.49 $13.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.capb002146102.2


    Heart On My Sleeve (Dlx) Capitol
    1. Heart On My Sleeve Capitol
    2. Heart On My Sleeve (Dlx) Capitol
    3. Heart On My Sleeve (Uk) Virgin EMI
    4. Heart On My Sleeve (Asia)

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text A year after her vocals on Macklemore & Ryan Lewis' "Same Love" made her into a star, Mary Lambert delivered Heart on My Sleeve, her full-length debut. Unlike Welcome to the Age of My Body, her time-buying 2013 EP, this downplays Lambert's roots as a poet, instead positioning her as a somewhat conventional singer/songwriter. This means, despite a doleful voice-and-piano reading of Rick Springfield's "Jessie's Girl," Heart on My Sleeve resembles the immaculate melodicism of Sara Bareilles more than the elusive, elliptical Tori Amos. Lambert may find space for a passing piece of poetry and mildly incongruous cameos from Angel Haze and K. Flay (their appearances feels like a nod to her own hip-hop-fueled rise), but the heart of the record lies in sweetly melancholic adult contemporary that is easy to digest. Coming after the willfully quirky Welcome to the Age of My Body, this shift is something of a surprise, but by emphasizing melody and feel over art and angst, Lambert's come up with a debut that goes down quite smoothly. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Secrets
  2. 2. So Far Away
  3. 3. Rib Cage
  4. 4. Dear One
  5. 5. When You Sleep
  6. 6. Chasing the Moon
  7. 7. Jessie's Girl
  8. 8. Monochromatic
  9. 9. Heart On My Sleeve
  10. 10. Wounded Animal
  11. 11. Sum of Our Parts
  12. 12. Sing To Me [Bonus Track]
  13. 13. Assembly Line [Bonus Track]
  14. 14. Sum of Our Parts [Alternate Version] [Bonus Track]

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products

25% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)
$14.99 $19.99