Of Wind & Water


aec.cdb5637319603.2 11/18/08 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.cdb5637319603.2


    Of Wind & Water Woodpecker Records

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The sprightly "Off to Adventure" begins Of Wind and Water, with Harvey Reid playing solo 12-string guitar. Reid's third album is more lively than earlier efforts like The Coming of Winter, gathering its inspiration from the New England seaside. This more nimble sound is aided by heavier use of 12-string guitar and by guest David Surette on guitar and bouzouki. "Pieces of Eight" is a particularly effective instrumental, played solo on the rare six-string banjo. The individual notes roll light and airy from Reid's fingers, resembling happy old-time banjo playing more than bluegrass. As the album progresses, the songs and instrumentals develop various aspects of life on and by the water. The somber "Midnight on the Water" flows easily into the upbeat, "Dance, the Storm Is Over." "The Keeper of the Light" is given a radiant and open feel by the addition of Sarah Bauhan on tin whistle. Reid's fingerstyle guitar on "A Windy Grave" creates a layered sound, both rich and full. His guitar style is subtle but multifaceted, and he's comfortable playing folk, Celtic, and traditional material. For guitarists, he has included liner notes about unusual tunings, use of capo, and the individual guitars used on each cut. Vocals are added to several tracks, as in the pleasing "Show Me the Road," where Reid is joined by Lynn Rothermich. Reid is an effective writer, and has written most of the material on Of Wind and Water. This is an eclectic, lyrical album, sure to evoke images of the seaside. ~ Ronnie Lankford, Jr.

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Off to Adventure - 3:27
  2. 2. Silver Blue - 5:28
  3. 3. Maggots in the Sheepshide/Flowers of Edinburgh - 2:28
  4. 4. Lakes of Pontchartrain - 7:10
  5. 5. Keeper of the Light - 5:01
  6. 6. Pieces of Eight - 5:48
  7. 7. Show Me the Road - 4:06
  8. 8. Midnight on the Water - 4:12
  9. 9. Dance the Storm Is Over - 4:29
  10. 10. Boatman - 4:48
  11. 11. Southwind - 5:50
  12. 12. April Rain - 5:11
  13. 13. Crown the Queen - 4:30
  14. 14. To the Western Wind - 5:08
  15. 15. Waltz of the Waves - 4:09
  16. 16. Candlelight - 2:24
  17. 17. Windy Grave - 2:11

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews