Glorious Gongs Of Hainuwele


aec.bwvl37.2 4/14/09 New

Product Promotions

20% off sitewide with $25 purchase (excluding pre-orders, sale items, exclusives, and select items)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.bwvl37.2


    Glorious Gongs Of Hainuwele Bo Weavil Recordings

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text The debut release by Harappian Night Recordings (it's a project name, not a label, despite what it may look like) feels, sounds, and somewhat looks like a punkish collage of grab-and-run ethnic music field recordings from parts of the Middle East and Southeast Asia. Wrong: The Glorious Gongs of Hainuwele is the work of a single man, Syed Kamran Ali, playing what must be a wide array of traditional instruments from around the world, adding in samples, and assembling these bits into psychedelic overdriven collages. Is it a mystification project (then why acknowledge on the cover the fact that the music is by Ali?) or simply proof that the Sublime Frequencies label has been active long enough now to influence a new generation of artists? For, in fact, this album sounds exactly like one of SF's patchworks of guerilla field recordings in remote parts of the world. There's bass xylophone and shenai, high-pitched microtonal singing and oud, percussion jams and crowd noise, all wrapped in lo-fi hiss and VU red-lining. And it works: the listener gets sucked into this colorful and schizophrenic depiction of otherness. The field recordings (and 78 rpm fetishism) of Robert Millis and the Bishop brothers have always appealed more to experimental music buffs than to ethnomusicologists (or collectors of early recordings), and Harappian Night Recordings is probably the first of several projects that will ignore the research but adopt the esthetics of such releases. As for The Glorious Gongs of Hainuwele, it is a valid artistic proposition, a disorienting listen (but you better already be acquainted with lo-fi psychedelia), and a rewarding experience on its own terms. ~ François Couture

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Mal de Ojo - 2:46
  2. 2. Bare Cairo - 4:54
  3. 3. Taqsim - 2:31
  4. 4. Headless Mule - 2:11
  5. 5. Memoria Makhnvischina - 4:52
  6. 6. Bully Kutta - 2:44
  7. 7. Ire of Konda Mangali - 2:51
  8. 8. Widow Chang, Lady Pirate - 2:28
  9. 9. Overture Toissant - 3:47
  10. 10. Scarecrow - 1:22
  11. 11. Glorious Gongs of Hainuwele - 1:48
  12. 12. Sarimanok Flies - 4:26
  13. 13. Lila Derderba - 4:57
  14. 14. Siyah Hashye - 3:37
  15. 15. Nyai Roro Kidul - 1:18
  16. 16. Red Eyes, Noose and Goad - 5:52

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews