Gypsy Heart



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rpblb002179102.2


    Gypsy Heart Island / Republic
    1. Gypsy Heart (Hk)
    2. Gypsy Heart Island / Republic

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Four albums in, Colbie Caillat decided it was time for a cool change. The singer/songwriter remains quintessentially Southern Californian -- her spirit is sunny, her melodies breezy -- but she no longer dresses her songs in beachwear. She's ditched the peasant skirts for stylish black dresses; she's no longer strumming an acoustic guitar; she's singing over densely arranged electronic tracks, some produced by Max Martin and some produced by Babyface, neither known for having much patience with neo-hippie surfer girls. If Caillat were less of a pro, this makeover would come across as forced and awkward, but she's savvy enough to make the transition feel natural. Part of this is due to the inherent warmth in her voice -- it always seems to be singing with a smile, even when she's sliding into sarcasm ("Nice Guys") or sadness ("Try") -- but she's also a fine craftswoman, relying not just on superficial hooks but constructed compositions, a trait that means Gypsy Heart, like all her albums, wears well. It also means that the barely disguised attempts to chase trends -- "Never Gonna Let You Down" bounces to the Mumford & Sons folk syncopation that's practically obligatory in 2014 -- are ingratiating, even if their transparency is no less egregious. That's the key to Colbie Caillat's appeal: she radiates good vibes so strongly, none of her calculated commercial considerations feels cold. And, as the sleekly modern Gypsy Heart proves, her charms are beguiling no matter her setting. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Live It Up - 4:38
  2. 2. Blaze - 3:07
  3. 3. If You Love Me Let Me Go - 4:41
  4. 4. Try - 4:44
  5. 5. Never Gonna Let You Down - 4:08
  6. 6. Land Called Far Away - 5:47
  7. 7. Nice Guys - 3:18
  8. 8. Floodgates - 4:40
  9. 9. Just Like That - 4:42
  10. 10. Break Free - 4:33
  11. 11. Never Getting Over You - 3:28
  12. 12. Bigger Love - 4:58

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products