aec.ept86644.2 8/13/02 New
$9.58 $11.98

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.ept86644.2


    Gusto Epitaph

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text Guttermouth must have gotten sick of being referred to as a poor man's joke-core NOFX, because Gusto sees the tenured punks delving into numerous styles, but with mixed results; the title track and especially "Contagious" borrow from the Social Distortion school of cow-punk, "Pee in the Shower" could be a silly, snotty blink-182 B-side, and "My Town," with cheesy Devo-like synths and an arrhythmic beat leading the way, sounds like quirky, surfy B-52's with wailing female vocals provided by Tsunami Bomb's Agent M augmenting Mark Adkins' idiosyncratic vocals that assume the role of Fred Schneider. Even the Irish jig-mosh of Flogging Molly gets reworked on "Looking Out for #1." While adventurous escapes to new musical styles are usually appreciated, on Gusto the band's sophomoric humor and the cheeky way it performs the material makes quite obvious that the band is taking the piss out of everything instead of embracing something -- anything -- and meaning it, not unlike the throwaway tracks on many a Sugar Ray disc. But even Mark McGrath couldn't pull off the horrible and not particularly clever double-entendre of "Foot Long" or the faux lounge scat on "Twins." Even he knows when to quit. Gusto sees a band that was either bereft of ideas, so its members opted to put out a bunch of novelty tracks in the place of anything substantial, or really thought that the disc was a good idea, and it's unsure what's worse. ~ Brian O'Neill

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Camp Fire Girl #62 - 3:55
  2. 2. Scholarship in Punk - 2:15
  3. 3. Gusto - 2:13
  4. 4. Vacation - 3:52
  5. 5. Contagious - 3:51
  6. 6. Pee in the Shower - 2:29
  7. 7. Walk of Shame - 3:34
  8. 8. My Town - 3:36
  9. 9. Contribution - 2:17
  10. 10. Foot-Long - 2:56
  11. 11. Looking Out for #1 - 2:48
  12. 12. Twins - 2:09
  13. 13. My Girlfriend - 3:35
  14. 14. Lemon Water - 3:19

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews