Grievous Angel



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rprw26108.2


    Grievous Angel Reprise

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text In the year before his death in the fall of 1973, Gram Parsons recorded two superb solo albums, and Warner Brothers has conveniently reissued them in their entirety on a single compact disc. Since many of the same musicians played on both G.P. (released in January of 1973) and Grievous Angel (which appeared in stores almost exactly a year later), the two albums flow together quite well as a single set. And while no bonus tracks were added, the booklet features well-written essays on Parsons from John M. Delgatto and Marley Brant, the complete liner notes from both albums, and lyrics for all the songs on the disc (which weren't included in the original vinyl issues). While the material and performances on G.P. are a shade stronger than on Grievous Angel, both albums have more than their share of pearly moments, and this disc is a treat from start to finish; James Burton's guitar leads are chicken-pickin' at its smartest and most tasteful, Al Perkins' pedal steel is the definitive sound of country & western heartache, fiddler Byron Berline effortlessly reveals how he became one of Nashville's leading session musicians, and Parsons' duets with the young Emmylou Harris are nothing less than sublime. And would anyone who loves either country or rock really want to be without a CD that includes songs like "A Song for You," "The New Soft Shoe," "Big Mouth Blues," "$1,000 Wedding," or "In My Hour of Darkness"? While the definitive Gram Parsons collection has yet to be compiled, G.P./Grievous Angel gives you everything you really need from his solo career, and these 20 performances are among the most influential and satisfying music the genre of country-rock would ever produce. ~ Mark Deming

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Still Feeling Blue - 3:40
  2. 2. We'll Sweep Out the Ashes in the Morning - 3:13
  3. 3. Song For You - 5:58
  4. 4. Streets of Baltimore - 3:53
  5. 5. She - 5:59
  6. 6. That's All It Took - 3:59
  7. 7. New Soft Shoe - 4:54
  8. 8. Kiss the Children - 3:57
  9. 9. Cry One More Time - 4:38
  10. 10. How Much I've Lied - 2:29
  11. 11. Big Mouth Blues - 4:52
  12. 12. Return of the Grievous Angel - 4:23
  13. 13. Hearts on Fire - 4:49
  14. 14. I Can't Dance - 2:23
  15. 15. Brass Buttons - 4:30
  16. 16. $1000 Wedding - 5:02
  17. 17. Medley Live From Northern Quebec - 6:26
  18. 18. Love Hurts - 4:41
  19. 19. Ooh las Vegas - 4:30
  20. 20. In My Hour of Darkness - 4:43

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products