Songs For Survivor 0702


fye.000000400076590977 7/30/02 Used

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400076590977


    Songs For Survivor 0702 Artemis Records
    1. Songs For Survivor 0702 Artemis Records
    2. Dts Songs For Survivors DTS Entertainment
    3. Songs For Survivors 0705 Intersound

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text In his first solo album after a ten-year hiatus, Graham Nash delivers a low-key package with minimal, acoustic-oriented arrangements of fairly agreeable material. A new and not unattractive huskiness enhances his delivery and adds depth to harmonized passages; some duo parts strongly recall Simon & Garfunkel, especially in the intriguing, if arguably misogynist "Pavanne"; and there's some glorious three-part work elsewhere as well. In the dryness of its instrumental tracks, Songs for Survivors recalls Neil Young circa "Heart of Gold," though Nash seems to struggle a bit more for his lyric: his stretch all the way back to a forgotten atrocity from 1921 on "Dirty Little Secret" only muddies his message. On more conventional tunes his imagery has a shopworn character, as in the rocks and crashing waves that set the stage for romance on "I'll Be There for You" or in the ancient imprecation to "Leave the love light in your eyes/You must believe it's true," on "Nothing in the World." With these disappointing moments balanced by more inspired narrative in the bleak but intriguing "Chelsea Hotel" and the simple affection of "Come With Me," Nash's comeback adds up to a pleasant, if not epochal, presentation. ~ Robert L. Doerschuk

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Dirty Little Secret - 4:22
  2. 2. Blizzard of Lies - 4:08
  3. 3. Lost Another One - 3:21
  4. 4. Chelsea Hotel - 4:55
  5. 5. I'll Be There for You - 4:43
  6. 6. Nothing in the World - 5:21
  7. 7. Where Loves Lies Tonight - 3:13
  8. 8. Pavanne - 5:13
  9. 9. Liar's Nightmare - 8:09
  10. 10. Come With Me - 3:37

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews