Golden D 0800


fye.000000400026411161 5/30/00 Used

Shipping Promotions

ID: fye.000000400026411161


    Golden D 0800 Transcopic Records / Caroline Distribution / EMI

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text What with Blur frontman Damon Albarn stealing much of the attention for his loud-mouth antics, it seemed only natural that Graham Coxon, Blur's lead guitarist, would break out on his own for a side project. His debut solo release, 1998's The Sky Is Too High, was sort of like a collection of journal entries featuring acoustic melancholy, off-key guitar explosions and country crooning. Like The Sky, the second album reveals Coxon's appreciation for American indie rock. Whereas the first solo effort was somewhat lo-fi and reminiscent of Lou Barlow, Golden D, which is named after the musical chord, focuses on rock -- the hard and fast variety -- and suggests Sonic Youth and Sex Pistols. Standouts include "Jamie Thomas," a trashy punk thrasher that tributes his favorite skateboarder; atmospheric noodlings on "Lake"; the quirky horn-driven "Oochy Woochy"; and two Mission Of Burma covers ("Fame and Fortune" and "That's When I Reach for My Revolver." Whereas Blur hired producer William Orbit (of Madonna fame) to bring out the band's delightfully sloppy side on its last album, 13, Coxon, who produced Golden D himself, masters messiness the au natural way -- by making the album sound almost exactly as it would live. This, in fact, leads to the most impressive element of Golden D -- that Coxon is solely responsible for everything you hear -- and see -- on the dozen-track album. He provided all the vocal and instrumental work (guitar and drums, mainly). He also released the album on his own label, Transcopic, and created the cover-art work -- a mess of colorful, cartoonish-looking albeit violent scribbles. ~ Amy Schroeder

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Jamie Thomas - 3:32
  2. 2. Fear - 3:02
  3. 3. Satan I Gatan - 3:18
  4. 4. Fame and Fortune - 4:35
  5. 5. My Idea of Hell - 2:14
  6. 6. Lake - 8:34
  7. 7. Fags and Failure - 2:54
  8. 8. Leave Me Alone - 3:10
  9. 9. Keep Hope Alive - 4:56
  10. 10. Oochy Woochy - 4:24
  11. 11. That's When I Reach for My Revolver - 4:58
  12. 12. Don't Think About Always - 5:43

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews