We Can't Dance


aec.emii2349842.2 10/13/08 New

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.emii2349842.2


    We Can't Dance EMI
    1. We Can't Dance EMI
    2. We Can't Dance (Jmlp) (Shm) (Jpn) EMI / EMI Music Distribution
    3. We Can't Dance (W/Dvd) (Rmst) Rhino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text After spending the 1980s moving in an increasingly pop-friendly direction, 1991's We Can't Dance marked a return to earlier aesthetics for Genesis. Edgier with more prominent guitars and live drums than on Invisible Touch, the record was the band's strongest musical statement in over a decade. With "Driving the Last Spike" and the dark "Dreaming While You Sleep" the group revisited one of their forgotten strengths, telling extended stories. That's not to say the album is a return to The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway or Trick of the Tail. Indeed, while there are several extended pieces on the record, there is none of the eccentricities, odd meters, or extended virtuoso solos of the band's progressive heyday. The album's closer, "Fading Lights," comes the closest, featuring an outstanding instrumental mid-section. Unfortunately, the record also contains some gutless ballads and paeans for world understanding that sound miles away from any immediacy. However, the surprisingly gritty singles "No Son of Mine," "Jesus He Knows Me," and "I Can't Dance" help make up for the album's weaker moments. ~ Geoff Orens

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. No Son of Mine
  2. 2. Jesus He Knows Me
  3. 3. Driving the Last Spike
  4. 4. I Can't Dance
  5. 5. Never a Time
  6. 6. Dreaming While You Sleep
  7. 7. Tell Me Why
  8. 8. Living Forever
  9. 9. Hold on My Heart
  10. 10. Way of the World
  11. 11. Since I Lost You
  12. 12. Fading Lights

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews