Our Love Is Here To Stay (Shm) (Jpn)


aec.imt5051830.2 3/3/17 New

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.imt5051830.2


    Our Love Is Here To Stay (Shm) (Jpn) WPCR

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.


Review Text On this Fresh Sound CD, Gene Harris sounds more like Oscar Peterson than himself, since he had not yet developed the bluesy style that was the trademark of his many recordings for Concord during the last two decades of his life. This 1955 studio session with bassist Mike Long and drummer George Herman predates his initial record as leader of the Three Sounds by approximately three years, and it was likely recorded for Jubilee, although the information is very sketchy. The 14 songs on this release are rather brief and to the point, with the focus on Harris, although both Long and Herman get a few brief features. Since Harris had only been discharged from his three-year stint in the army the year before, it's obvious that his approach to the keyboard was still forming at the time this album was made. Highlights include a very relaxed treatment of "Old Devil Moon" and a brisk rendition of "I'd Do Anything for You." ~ Ken Dryden

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Let's Fall in Love - 2:11
  2. 2. I'd Do Anything for You - 3:53
  3. 3. Cheerful Little Earful - 2:10
  4. 4. Foggy Day - 3:34
  5. 5. My Heart Belongs to Daddy - 2:50
  6. 6. There'll Never Be Another You - 3:13
  7. 7. Girl Friend - 2:03
  8. 8. Love Me or Leave Me - 3:30
  9. 9. Old Devil Moon - 3:07
  10. 10. Varsity Drag - 2:48
  11. 11. Our Love Is Here to Stay - 3:12
  12. 12. Almost Like Being in Love - 3:04
  13. 13. Try a Little Tenderness - 4:26
  14. 14. Out of This World - 3:27

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews