Dancing On The Wall 1094


rovi.MR0000773315 Used

Product Promotions

20% off CD, DVD, and Blu-ray when you buy 2 or more (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: rovi.MR0000773315


    Dancing On The Wall 1094 Flying Fish

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item is currently not available.


Review Text The interracial Boston band Flor De Cana takes a largely acoustic and very folksy approach to a variety of Latin styles on Dancing on the Wall. Although not extraordinary, the results are generally decent and likable. With singing in English as well as Spanish, the CD finds Flor embracing everything from Afro-Cuban salsa ("Azucar," and "Mi Suplica") and Dominican merengue ("Dancing on the Wall") to Brazilian bossa nova ("Dias De Calor") and Latin jazz (the instrumental "Chile Sin Carne"). The band (which has a talented singer in the very clear-voiced and lucid Rosemarie Straijer-Amador) moves into African territory on "Bailando en La Sombra," an example of the popular African style called zouk. But for all its diversity, the CD makes a very cohesive statement. ~ Alex Henderson

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Bailando en la Muralla/Dancing on the Wall - 4:37
  2. 2. Azucar/Sugar - 5:47
  3. 3. Dia del Pueblo/Day of the People - 4:19
  4. 4. Cancion/Song - 2:29
  5. 5. Dog Days/Dias de Calor - 4:52
  6. 6. Clear Water/Agua Clara - 6:45
  7. 7. Candombe Mulato - 4:43
  8. 8. Carinito/Sweetheart - 3:38
  9. 9. Viajero del Amor/Traveler of Love - 4:33
  10. 10. Mi Suplica/My Plea - 4:23
  11. 11. Chile Sin Carne/Chile Without Meat - 5:47
  12. 12. Dancing on Shadow/Bailando en la Sombra - 6:09

Customer Reviews