Faith (Rmst) (Reis)


$8.99 $11.99

Product Promotions

25% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)

Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.snyl775319.2


    Faith (Rmst) (Reis) Epic
    1. Faith (Ger) Sony Music
    2. Faith (Gold Series) (Aus)
    3. Faith BMG / Columbia / Sony Music Entertainment
    4. Faith (Blus) (Jpn) Sony Music
    5. Faith (Rmst) (Reis) Epic

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text A superbly crafted mainstream pop/rock masterpiece, Faith made George Michael an international solo star, selling over ten million copies in the U.S. alone as of 2000. Perhaps even more impressively, it also made him the first white solo artist to hit number one on the R&B album charts. Michael had already proven the soulful power of his pipes by singing a duet with Aretha Franklin on the 1987 smash "I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me)," but he went even farther when it came to crafting his own material, using sophisticated '70s soul as an indispensable part of his foundation. Of course, it's only a part. Faith's ingenuity lies in the way it straddles pop, adult contemporary, R&B, and dance music as though there were no distinctions between them. In addition to his basic repertoire of funky dance-pop and airy, shimmering ballads, Michael appropriates the Bo Diddley beat for the rockabilly-tinged title track, and proves himself a better-than-decent torch singer on the cocktail jazz of "Kissing a Fool." Michael arranged and produced the album himself, and the familiarity of many of these songs can obscure his skills in those departments -- close listening reveals his knack for shifting elements in and out of the mix and adding subtle embellishments when a little emphasis or variety is needed. Though Faith couldn't completely shake Michael's bubblegum image in some quarters, the album's themes were decidedly adult. "I Want Your Sex" was the most notorious example, of course, but even the love songs were strikingly personal and mature, grappling with complex adult desires and scarred by past heartbreak. All of it adds up to one of the finest pop albums of the '80s, setting a high-water mark that Michael was only able to reach in isolated moments afterward. ~ Steve Huey

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Faith [Remastered Version] - 3:13
  2. 2. Father Figure [Remastered Version] - 6:36
  3. 3. I Want Your Sex, Pts. 1 & 2 [Remastered Version] - 9:17
  4. 4. One More Try [Remastered Version] - 6:50
  5. 5. Hard Day [Remastered Version] - 5:48
  6. 6. Hand to Mouth [Remastered Version] - 5:36
  7. 7. Look at Your Hands [Remastered Version] - 5:37
  8. 8. Monkey [Remastered Version] - 5:06
  9. 9. Kissing a Fool [Remastered Version] - 5:40
  10. 10. Last Request (I Want Your Sex) [Remastered Version] - 4:47

CD: 2

  1. 11. Faith [Instrumental] [Remastered Version] - 3:07
  2. 12. Fantasy [Remastered Version] - 5:02
  3. 13. Hard Day [Shep Pettibone Remix] [Remastered Version] - 9:05
  4. 14. I Believe (When I Fall in Love It Will Be Forever) [Remastered] - 7:05
  5. 15. Kissing a Fool [Instrumental] [Remastered] - 5:37
  6. 16. Love's in Need of Love Today [Live] [Remastered] - 5:46
  7. 17. Monkey [7" Edit] [Remastered Version] - 5:52
  8. 18. Monkey [A Cappella] [Remastered Version] - 8:30
  9. 19. Monkey [Jam & Lewis Remix] [Remastered Version] - 8:06

Product Details

Release Date

Recommended Products

25% off sitewide (excludes pre-orders, sale items, and exclusives)
$14.99 $19.99