Introspection: A Faine Jade Recital


aec.suz5222.1 2/27/07 New
ID: aec.suz5222.1


    Introspection: A Faine Jade Recital Sundazed

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: This item may take up to 8 weeks to ship.


Review Text It's hard to imagine that a 20-year-old New York guitarist fresh out of garageland would have been infatuated with Syd Barrett in 1968. However, Faine Jade's 1968 album sounds as if he was besotted with Pink Floyd's first LP, which was barely known in the States at the time. Jade's vocals and songwriting uncannily evoke an American Syd Barrett with their evocative, cryptic lyrics, thick organs, and psychedelic guitar lines. "On the Inside There's a Middle" and particularly "Cold Winter Sun" never fail to inspire comparisons to Barrett when played for those unfamiliar with Jade. Faine, it's fair to say, is somewhat blunted in comparison to Barrett's madcap edge. More laid-back and grounded, he also deals more explicitly with hippie-era concerns like being hassled for being different and the necessity of being compassionate toward your brother, without being sappy or preachy. [Reissues contain remasterings from the first-generation tapes by Faine himself, and also add a few bonus cuts: backing instrumental demo tracks for a few of the songs, the previously unreleased brief instrumental "Piano Interlude," and a 1993 "reunion" performance. The extra tracks are of only minor interest, and it's disappointing that the Introspection-era demos released on It Ain't True were not included as well.] ~ Richie Unterberger

Track Listing

Record: 1

  1. 1. Doctor Paul Overture
  2. 2. People Games Play
  3. 3. Cold Winter Sun Symphony in D Major
  4. 4. I Lived Tomorrow Yesterday
  5. 5. Ballad of the Bad Guys
  6. 6. Introspection
  7. 7. Brand New Groove
  8. 8. On the Inside There's a Middle
  9. 9. Don't Hassle Me
  10. 10. Grand Finale
  11. 11. It Ain't True
  12. 12. Love on a Candy Apple Day

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews