Essentials (Can)



Shipping Promotions

ID: aec.rhi76039.2


    Essentials (Can) Rhino

Add to cart options

Product Actions

Availability: In Stock


Review Text The Essentials is a fine 11-track introduction to the music of Tommy James & the Shondells. Starting off with the song that made them stars -- the good-time oldies staple "Hanky Panky" -- and ending up with Tommy James' first solo hit, "Dragging the Line," this 12-track collection rounds up the group's hits and spotlights the dual nature of their career. The disc is pretty much split between the good-time frat rock staples that the band began their career with (the dramatic "I Think We're Alone Now," "Mirage," and the guaranteed dancefloor-filler "Mony Mony") and the slightly more psychedelic pop sounds they experimented with (the amazing "Crimson and Clover," "Sweet Cherry Wine," and "Crystal Blue Persuasion"). The cool thing about the band was that their attempts to broaden their sound were just as popular as their simple party songs. That is a rare occurrence in rock; James managed to pull it off by always finding killer hooks and melodies. Just try getting the chorus of "Crystal Blue Persuasion" or "Dragging the Line" out of your head after hearing them. Due to the lack of rarities or unusual tracks, devoted fans of Tommy James & the Shondells don't really need this disc. It is aimed at the casual music fan who wants the hits and only the hits, and on that count it certainly succeeds. ~ Tim Sendra

Track Listing

CD: 1

  1. 1. Hanky Panky - 3:53
  2. 2. Say I Am (What I Am) - 3:32
  3. 3. I Think We're Alone Now - 2:10
  4. 4. Mirage - 3:38
  5. 5. Gettin' Together - 2:16
  6. 6. Mony Mony - 3:53
  7. 7. Crimson and Clover - 3:28
  8. 8. Sweet Cherry Wine - 5:30
  9. 9. Crystal Blue Persuasion - 4:04
  10. 10. Ball of Fire - 3:07
  11. 11. She - 2:02
  12. 12. Draggin' the Line - 3:45

Product Details

Release Date

Customer Reviews